The BS happening in IB may also be happening in your town.

1703432704193~2.jpg

At some point this morning, I got into a discussion with one of my friends in Pakistan and we ended up talking about our society and how what is mostly seen as an economic issue has become an issue that affects all other areas of life. We talked about how expensive food items have been and even mentioned how access to clean water is becoming an issue.

That's the case in their part of the world but that also isn't farfetched from what's happening in my part of the world. For the most part, if you look well enough in your town, you will notice some things that can be improved to augment the overall standard of living and make life a bit endurable.

Now, I know some people come across discussions like these, and the self-acclaimed saints in them make them say things like;

Why focus on what's wrong? Why focus on the negative? Just turn your attention to the positive things about your town.

Well, not today, okay? People want to focus only on paradisical experience and they end up becoming blind to the things that shouldn't be tolerated. That level of tolerance of bullshit is what leads to the death of towns until it becomes a place that's a shadow of its former self. So, this post is going to be about me telling you the bullshit that is happening in my town. Things that shouldn't be happening.

For the record, it's been a long time since I went to my hometown. Like, we are talking in "years" not even months. So, anything about sharing ideas on what could be improved in my town should be left for those over there. However, I've been living in Ibadan (SouthWestern part of Nigeria) for two years already and I've lived here long enough to notice some things that could be improved on.

They are;

1. Poor Electricity Supply.

This is an issue with most parts of Nigeria but since I'm in Ibadan, I've got to say that the level of insufficiency in our electrical supply is preposterous. This wasn't even the case last year but even since the previous Christmas celebration, our electricity supply has become too poor. I spent a fortune to buy a freezer last November so I wouldn't have to cook very often.

IMG_20240425_130649_614.jpg

Guess what? Within the last 3 months alone, the foods in the freezer have spoilt about 5 times. I've lost thousands of Naira for that same reason and at this moment, the only thing I have in the fridge is the drinkable sachets of water I keep there and the containers which I usually use to store food. I also keep fruit once in a while, but I just struggle to cook food in huge quantities. I can't afford to have another food go to waste because of an inconsistent power supply.

Aside from the fridge-related issue, I work remotely full-time and this requires a great deal of power for both my laptop and phone. I don't have enough space to get a generator and have it secured. So, I opted for Power Banks.

Screenshot_20240425-134832.jpg

The one by the left was worth #11,000 when I got it and the one by the right was worth #43,000 (if I'm not mistaken) when I got it. I've got to have all these around to avoid having my remote work ruined because of the power supply. I've also given away 4 different 30,000mah Oraimo Power bank and it helped those people to withstand the electricity issue we are dealing with.

Now, whenever I go to church or go to watch football games in viewing centers, I see a lot of people coming around with their chargers because they want to power up their gadgets. It's very shameless from a country that claims to be the "Giant of Africa".

I know you are probably thinking; "why don't I go and live in places that have better power supply". Well, whenever I relocate anywhere, I always live in the Capital because that's the center of everything and that's usually where you will get the best amenities. I'm living in the Capital of OYO state and the electricity supply has been bollocks since this year. Haha.


The next thing I wanted to talk about which can be improved in the town I'm staying in is the cost of Housing and the shit show that real estate agents are acting out. That alone is enough to make my mind go bunkers and I wouldn't want to start something I can't finish. Haha. Besides, seems like I've already shared a lot.

So, Peace Out! Deuces! Oh, my God!

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or Comma.
All Images are mine, taken with my phone Camera.

This is my entry to today's prompt on #aprilinleo monthly prompt. Feel free to check out the post and explore their prompt.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

First a funny point - i like how you are talking of having powerbanks available for work, while the screen is showing Korean drama :D

Back to the serious stuff - it is really bad situation globally. Main culprit are the people. We are happy to elect people for flashy things, or divisive things like religion, nationalism etc. No one gets thrown out of office for bad governance, even at local levels of govt. So there is no impetus by them to try and better our situation. In fact keep us in a bad place is probably more useful to them as we are so busy surviving we cannot think of anything else.

I am so frustrated by it but no idea how to change it. Getting into politics is so difficult in countries like ours. All i can hope is that He provides some brains and empathy to our political overlords.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Hahah... You caught the details displaying on the laptop 😂😂😂. Now I'm having a really big laugh. Lol. Oh, my! I was playing a song from the soundtrack of a Kdrama I watched a few years ago. Haha. I like listening to those sorta songs while sitting in my workplace.

Back to the serious stuff, I'm always impressed with the level of knowledge you have about the things happening in the real world. A lot of people have already become blinded by weird narratives that are getting pushed and it makes them blind to the things going wrong in their region. However, it's always good to come across someone that knows all about the things happening in this world.

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on this. I'm genuinely glad that I got these.

 10 days ago  

There seems to be a lot of issues in Nigeria of late which isn’t surprising given the artificial destruction of the world economy being forced right now. I think so much of the issues right now is related to corruption of the local and government officials. They are definitely causing these issues when they don’t need to exist!

Very true. The sort of issues we face in Nigeria are ridiculous. It shouldn't even be hard of because the basic things that should be available in a decent country is lacking in Nigeria.

Corruption is already eating deep into all sectors of the Country. We only hope on God's intervention.

Just like you said, that shit happening in Ibadan is happening here in my city. I have a big double deck fridge but it has become a store house for plates and cutleries. You will see light today and in the next one week, it's gone. Yet the distribution company will mandate you to pay or face disconnection. It's really a frustrating situation we're in.

It's very frustrating oooo. That's why solar energy is something we need to haha seriously in this part of the world. Our government are doing way too much and we need to sort ourselves out by all decent means.

The problem of electricity in Nigeria, it's only God that will intervene. Are you watching your kdramas on YouTube? I never really tried it tho. A fellow kdrama fan is saying hello😊
#dreemerforlife

Hahah... Kdrama fan? Get onboard ooooo. I wasn't even watching a Kdrama on YouTube. I was just listening to a soundtrack from Kdrama. I downloaded a lot of those, but sometimes, I like to also watch the videos. Haha.

Check this one out;

It's from the first season of "The Tale Of The Nine tailed". Haha.

If you are a big fan of Kdrama, I will like to get your thoughts on this;

I'm about to start a YouTube channel where I will be reacting to TvShows Ang Movies. I will also be reacting to a lot of Kdramas. Haha. Of course, I will be sharing them on Hive too.

Would you like to watch something like that?

I've watched the Tale of the the Nine Tailed and the soundtrack was beautiful. Thanks for bringing it back for me to listen to it here.

About the YouTube channel, I'll love to see it. I always go to Instagram to get reactions on kdramas. It'll be nice for me to begin using YouTube for my kdrama reactions. Thanks to you. So, count me in

Ahaaa... The channel is already open and my first reaction was to a Korean Movie, Train To Busan. Haha.

It's already uploaded.

https://www.youtube.com/@KcValentineReacts

When you check it, feel free to let me know of any thing I need to work on in order to produce more engaging Reaction Videos.

I've watched it and it was really amazing. I loved it. Thanks for sharing the link with me

Wow... I'm glad to get this feedback from you. Thanks so much for checking that out.

I will be sharing some of the videos on Hive too. But, it will always first get uploaded on YouTube. Hehe.

Everyday I try so hard to find something positive about this country but at the end I will give myself an headache because the little which should be done are taking for granted by the bloody set of political elite and I doubt their ways will change anytime soon.

Their ways are not going to change any time soon. They are all set on their ways and they will continue to take advantage of the corrupt system until they finish their tenure. It's insane

Congratulations @kenechukwu97! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 1200 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP