Food Poisen Isn't Fun

in Rant, Complain, Talk22 days ago (edited)

Throughout this post I'm going describe in graphic detail my horrific ordeal.



Source


It all started on Monday evening; all had been well, the day was great. We spent the day getting on with a few things, and headed out for a while to the shops.

I'd bought some stuff to make dinner, but by 7 o'clock someone suggested getting a takeaway. Etiquette of ordering food is, nobody wants to outright say that's what they want to do, but kind of hint at it by breathing in at the same time they say, "Order something?"

Since everyone obviously wants a takeaway, unanimously everyone's heads nodded, while a few shrugs were thrown. Chinese? While I'm not a fan, I shrugged with the rest of them.


About 10 Minutes Later

I'm not exaggerating. 10 minutes later saw a knock at the door and we got our food.

I knew something was up, but didn't question it.

My food consisted of a 3 in 1, (chips, rice, and curry sauce) and vegetable spring rolls.

The chips were hard and undercooked, and the rice didn't feel right either. But, I was starving so ate as much as I could stomach.

I wasn't happy with the food, but what can you do in that situation? It's not like I could ring and say I want my money back. They'd see it was half eaten, and give me nothing.


That Night

Round 1

I woke up with a sore stomach, and lay in bed silently holding it, curled into a fetal position.

Grumble. I darted up from the bed, ran to the bathroom, clenching my ass as I woddled, sat down and I don't even want to relive what happened next. It was like a canon ball shot out of me, followed by a litre of water.

Every time I stood up I had to sit back down, I'd gone pale, and in general, felt weaker each time the sprinklers started again. I could feel the muscles in my jaw clenching, knowing that I was going to get sick, but I held back that tide.

I eventually felt safe to return to the bedroom, and lay at the end of the bed because I knew this wasn't the end.


Round 2

I was between the waking and the sleeping world for an uncertain amount of time, and then I ran once more to the bathroom.

Standing over the toilet bowl, I felt my jaw clenching again, but this time I didn't try to hold it back.

Like power washer, the contents of my stomach charged my throat and flew into the toilet in a spectaclar assualt. Coughing up bits, I could only stand there, staring at the toilet through watering eyes.

Second Wave!

More flew out, and I have to say, throwing up spicy food is nasty... I mean throwing up anything is bad, but curry chips and rice is a whole new level of torture.

After I knew my stomach was empty I gargled some water, and it tasted sickly sweet. I brushed my teeth to rid me of the taste, but it didn't help, and it also didn't help my burning throat.

After another game of musical chairs, I slinked back to back feeling way weaker than before. I was also freezing cold.


Round 3

The last time I ran back wasn't as bad, but was still rough. All that was left was water, but after bit of stand up sit down, I threw up again.

It was purple.

Then, as I finished throwing up I had to sit down. While seated, I had to lean over and finish getting sick in the sink beside me.

This seemed to clear me out entirely, and afterward, I was able to actually sleep.


Tuesday

I got up with Kaleb at 7 to get him ready to go to creche, and felt rough as fuck, and really weak. He left around 8, and from there on I slept on and off all day, and sipped water.

By 6 o'clock that evening, I ate a banana, and got a fairly early night.

My stomach was swollen, and sore to the touch all day, but I was mostly okay.


Wednesday

My stomach was still sore to the touch, but actually looked really flat.

I had some toast, and continued to drink water. I did have a coffee, but threw it away after a few sips because my stomach wasn't feeling up for it.


Today

I feel way better, have had a coffee, and have had a few things to eat, but for the most part I've have no appetite at all. I know I should eat something though, which is why I've been pushing myself to eat small things.

I mentioned in a recent post that I've noticed that I've lost a good bit of weight, and now thanks to this, I think I've managed to loose a bit more.

I'm glad to be on the other side of it.

From here on out I'm not eating Chinese food again. I've never really liked it anyway, but after this ordeal, I don't think it's worth the risk.

Sort:  

That sounds really nasty and there must have been something up with the food. I hope you are better soon.

I have Chinese now and again from the place up the road and it's generally been okay. I've been going there for years. I've not used the generic food delivery services that seem to be taking over. Some of those use dedicated kitchens rather than shops. I wonder if some take short-cuts with hygiene, but then they won't last long if people report problems.

Get well and take it easy.

That's the thing man, I'm not sure what it was, but the sheer speed it arrived I assume they didn't cook it right.

I have a feeling it could have been the rice, bit the chips were hard so it could have been a mix of both.

Aimee's mum was speaking with someone the other day who had food poisen from the same place a few days before me, so it must be the place itself. There's no comeback though from it.

Ouch, this sucks. 🤢

On the positive side, you could totally use this experience in a story about poisoning, if you were so inclined. Heh. Get well soon.

You know what, that's not a bad way to look at it.

No pain, no gain haha

!PIMP

After another game of musical chairs

That may be the single best euphemism for the shits I've ever heard.

Sorry to hear you were down and out for a few days... and here I was considering ordering Chinese tonight... maybe this is a sign not to LOL

Hahaha I thought so too, !LOLZ

I think it was the rice to be fair, it's my fault for continuing to eat it when I knew there wasn't something right about it.

It's horrible though man, been a rough few days.

I have ridden the food poisoning roller-coaster once before too, so I fully agree. Put me off fried chicken for a good two years.

I'm half afraid to eat anything at the moment. I've eaten a few small things, but for the most part my appetite has gone.

Once bit, twice cautious, as they say.

Toast and butter man, seriously. Simple as can be, and enough to keep you going. It's what worked for me in the 'I can't trust anything' stage afterwards. Once you can be sure two slices of toast stay down, one of those go-cup style yogurts or a small dish is good to get something else in ya.

Hand to god, I spent like two days just on toast and the occasional bit of yogurt until I could stomach some soups and such. It might work for you too.

Oh nice one man, I've been having some toast, and I've had the odd banana too which has been good to get something into me.

Thanks for that man, I'll try some yogurt tomorrow and hopefully I'll be back to normal.

Heck yeah. Good luck buddy!

 22 days ago  Reveal Comment