Catch Up - The weird paradox of Life

image by WangXiNa on freepik

spacer_yellow.png

Where the hell do I start? From the hellish experience of almost losing my phone again; to almost getting mugged on commute; to getting rejected after asking someone out; to the incessant mistakes at work that sends me into a downward spiral of self-loathing and chaos; to the sprees of heat wave and depression; to the financial turmoil and the humdrum; to the mental rut and overwhelming weight of activities; to me being a cash-cow to everyone, something that won't be going away anytime soon, as I am writing this I just got a text from a friend in dire need, SEEEEEE; bollocks; to finally allowing someone into my personal space. Yup, I have a girlfriend now. Yeah, she's pretty awesome. Dear reader, I could go on, and on and on, point is, these past few months have been one hell of an experience. But nope, that is not the main reason why I am writing this. Heck, I don't even know why. I guess the main reason is to assure you guys that I'm still burgeoning through this labyrinth called life. And also that you have had the idea of work and productivity all wrong. At least for the most part.

image by creativeart on freepik

The mental rut was hellish, coupled with that drowning depressive feeling, and then the incredibly hot weather. I questioned my existence, xD. (another similar text just dropped, no kidding). Anyhoo, I noticed something. Anytime I lunged into this sort of rut, I always got out of it through one simple trick. One of the ideas from the subtle art of not giving a f*ck is the Do something Principle. If you haven't heard of or read the book, you most definitely have been living under a rock for the past few years. So Mark Manson says that the idea of motivation is counterintuitive. He says that action begets motivation and not the other way around. So it's like this, if you have something to do, say, write an assignment. Just do something directly related to that, read a book, or write some random things. The action would propel you to do the assignment. "motivation often follows action rather than precedes it". So all through the time I had so many tasks and was caught up in the vicious cycle of depressing thoughts, I always try to do something meaningful. Clean my room, wash the dishes, or something. Always works in the end.

spacer_yellow.png

When you think about it, it sounds paradoxical and outlandish, but trust me (Yeah, I am a veeeeeeery trustworthy person), getting shit done starts from actually doing shit. There is still the part of sustainability, but for those occasional times when everything seems to have hit an impasse, the Do something principle would save the day. I can't tell when I'll be writing again next, but stay safe, friends. Keep being positive. 90% percent chance that you'd be just fine no matter the obstacle or challenge. Oh, and the 10%? FUCK IT.
Sort:  

Wawu, all of this just to a single Person? Bro, you are indeed a strong man. It's always good when we are able to devise a trick that will help us out of trouble.Na man you be.

My bro
I'm grateful

No be beans at all, but God is faithful

He is always faithful, no matter what it is.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Thank you bhattg & Sagakothari ❤️

@stevenson7, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

Here is !LUV token gift for you

 24 days ago  

Unfortunate to hear you’ve had a number of struggles of late but the good thing is that we can use these things as learning opportunities to improve ourselves! It’s not always easy to deal with them but we can take them and build off them in many ways. Hoping things improve for you man! Particularly in the love life side :D

Well said. The learning curve has been on the up side, so I've tried soaking in all the lessons I can get.

I really hope so too. She is a lovely lady.

Thank you 🙏🏿
I appreciate the kind words