Did you ever get tired and...

find yourself suffering from Hive stress?

https://creator.nightcafe.studio/creation/APY1L8kHNpewBzE03Eze

So many people whom you really like are posting so many posts that you want to read and give a good answer to? So many contests to join - write a story about this, cook something with that ingredient, take a photo of that, write a story about this too, do something fun during the weekend, take good walk in an interesting place, and post something about a game you play... And while you take a minute to write more than a copy-paste reply, the notifications keep piling up.

I'm definitely suffering from Hive stress. I see new and interesting contests to take part in, and save the post in a tab for later, I see someone asking a question, and I want to answer it as soon as I've looked things up... but I never get around to it. This morning I deleted 28 tabs from my browser, because there was no point replying any more. Expired! And yet I take the time off to write a post about it, instead of spending my time catching up - while I'm already two days behind. And half an hour trying to create an image to top the post. Sorry all you purists - I had to use AI, because I'm not an artist.

What's my aim, my goal, in writing this post? I don't know. I just felt like expressing myself on this topic. Even though it leaves me less time to catch up with my 453 unread notifications. 300 or so being duplicates... "NN posted a new post, NN mentioned you in their post." One notification is enough please. "NN replied to your post, NN mentioned you in their reply to your post." Same there.

@ecency is doing a good thing, letting me view only unread. It would be even better if I could view only upvotes (I can) and mark all those upvotes as read (I can't, clicking mark as read marks every notification of every kind as read... )

I can't even think of something to add for the tenth tag. That's how out of it I am.

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/fokusnow/re-fokusnow-ep76ef3u
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( fokusnow ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 11 months ago  

Haha yes there is definitely a lot of things going on that we can’t get to all of them in a day or week! It’s best to try to focus down to what you can and do your best. That’s what I’ve been doing and it’s working well enough.

I know exactly what you mean about Hive stress. Because I've experienced everything you've said. But I think I might have found a partial workaround for your notification problem.

I'm assuming that you're using Ecency on mobile? Because I found that the best way to reduce my Hive stress was to always use desktop. Though, this might work on a mobile browser set to "Desktop site". Anyway, notifications on the desktop version are easy to set as read individually:

On the screenshot, I just clicked the little blue dot on the left of your notification to change it to "Read". But be careful, because once it's marked as read, I can't see a way to change it back to "Unread".

Most of all - thank you for your upvote 😀

!CPT !LOLZ

I'm assuming that you're using Ecency on mobile?

No, I'm on a desktop, using the browser, not the app. I've tried the apps both for Mac and iOS and didn't really enjoy the experience 🤷

Getting rid of notifications by clicking the blue dot is great, the problem is that the notification still shows in the list. Unless I select to show only unread, of course, but that has its own problems or bugs: several times if I get rid of the first 30-40 notifications out of say 120, the the website will show I have 80 unread, but the list will be completely empty. Then I have to select show all, and scroll down and down and down past the read ones until I get to the unread ones. So I might as well not have bothered trying to show only unread.

I really understand this feeling. When I see those replied/mentioned notifications, it just feels bad because they take you to the same comment. And like you said, keeping up is no easy stuff. I do this fulltime and still dont keep up. I wonder how part-time users cope. But like you did, just clear notifs you could not attend to. Thats what i do.

Sometimes clearing them is the only way to cope, but at the same I feel bad because that means I will miss reading and replying to comments and posts that I wanted to see.

It varies from user to user...

Very true, and I should think that it varies for every user too, so that not every day is the same.