Campus Market Tour, Tried Coffee at a Coffee Shop for the First time

in Market Friday5 months ago

Hello everyone! Happy weekend! It's another #MarketFriday.

It's not common to find a market place inside a school campus where you can find all the necessary services you need such as a grocery shop, eateries, meat and fish stalls, remittance, school supply shop and more. That is as far as I know. But VSU has its own University market. While most schools are located downtown, VSU is approximately 15 kilometers away from the city center and having its own market is such a convenience among students and people living near the university.

The last stop of our VSU campus tour was in the VSU market. It was past noon so it was time to refuel our stomach. We need to look for a place to eat and decided to go to the market and see if we could find a decent place for lunch.

The market is located in the lower campus just across the highway from the upper campus.
IMG_20240113_041601.jpg

Crossing the highway to the market, you would notice the center islands in the highway and the beautiful cannopies of trees on the roadside provides a lovely scenery. It is remarkeable to note that this was made possible because the university admin fought for these trees to remain intact during the road widening. So instead of cutting all the trees, the trees were preserved by creating another two lanes divided by the center islands with these beautiful trees.
IMG_20240113_043219.jpg

IMG_20240113_043237.jpg

We went inside the market and the first stall we noticed was a coffee shop, Don Macchiatos. Could you believe, I have never tried coffee in coffee shops and seeing it in the campus market, I thought to myself that I must try it, lol! Pooor me!😆 Don Machiattos serves affordable coffee drinks perfect for students who love coffee and study. An order of coffee cost only 39 pesos or 0.70$. IMG_20240113_045741.jpg

IMG_20240113_050326.jpg

I and the husband ordered ice-cold Caramel Macchiato. In no time, the coffee was served. I love the alfresco coffee experience.
IMG_20240113_050421.jpg

While sipping my glass of coffee, I pondered on many things. I couldn't help but compare our time in this University with the present. I guess this generation is lucky they have everything easier for them. They even have the luxury of coffee shops. Even tuition is free now which should be the case since this is a state university but we did not have that previledge back in the days. Oh, I think I got lost in my thoughts.
IMG_20240113_050350.jpg

The VSU market is still quite the same. Some stores remained with their business and there were also new stalls and store. Most of the new stalls are eateries.
IMG_20240113_052910.jpg
IMG_20240113_053015.jpg

They have a remittance center already which is very important for students when they need money. It's easier and more convenient to send or withdraw money through remittance centers. Back in the days, once we're out of money, we starve, hahah! Can't ask the parents to send money easily.
IMG_20240113_053100.jpg

Some things remained the same like these fruits and snack stalls and grocery shop. The meat and fish shop and the carenderias or eateries are still there too. Those at the back part of this photo.
IMG_20240113_052949.jpg

Oh, I didn't expect for the post office to remain. 😄 Who needs the post office when everything can be done through emails, chat or text? But I was amazed that it is still there triggering nostalagia in me. I guess, despite the fast pace communication nowadays, their snail services are still of good use. Kinda reminded me that we need to slow down a bit. Not everything needs to be rushed. 😀
IMG_20240113_053138.jpg

And if ever you love to get a souvenir, something to remind you of this place, there's the gift or souvenir shop too.
IMG_20240113_053112.jpg

Just by seeing how the market change made me realize many things. Change is constant and so we must live with the present and the past may be a constant reminder to always strive for the better.

Thank you for being with me for today's #MarketFriday. Have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Basta mem imung promise imu kong i-tour dira

Nice sad mem noh kay dli na need mamasahe ang students para moadtug market

Sure kaau mam puhon. Mao jud, maoy naka nindot. Ug naa sa visca mura ra pod kag naa sa usa ka lungsod. Naa tanan.

True indeed. As a student, I can verify that, we're more privileged now than before. It's also a good because it means that education is accessible to all now. Don Mac is everywhere, and it's popular since it is affordable. I'm also buying it when I pass by on one of their branches here.

That's true. No reason for the youth to not be able to go to school. But though we do not have that previledge of free tuition during out time, at least as parents, when we send our kids to state universities it will not be so hard for us too financially.

Don Mac is really made for students, I guess.

Thank you for dropping by ayane. Have a great day.

wow, this is cool. I've never seen universities with a market on their own. Completo mn kanindot ani na set up sa school.

Don Macchiato coffee is cheaper than the other but I haven't tried it pa sd., hehe

Yes mam kay layo man ang school sa syudad. Ang school murag pod usa ka lungsod. Naa gane pod syay kaugalingon infirmary. Kumpleto jud tanan.

Pang estudyante jud ning don macchiatos. Di sad ko kacompare sa ubang cofffee shop pero mas lami sya sa ahung kape sa balay.😄😄

The school is amazing! Huhu. I've never tried Caramel Macchiato before! Guess I have to try one.

Yes, it's good to try something new loke new flavors. Thank you


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you