You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday... Lavender Fields, Forever

in Market Friday11 months ago

Oh wow, that is relatively cheap! I can see how places like this might do really well outside the bigger cities. We don't have many of those near where I live. Big Cities that is. Detroit is probably the closest. The other ones are just small enough that they still have a kind of rural feel to them.

Sort:  

You have been to Washington, DC. I don't think it is a major *feeling) the city for all that it has there. Perhaps it is the lack of skyscrapers due to the restrictions on height.

Although the city is home to several high-rises, none are considered to be genuine "skyscrapers"; only two completed buildings surpass 200 feet (61 m).

The height of buildings in Washington is limited by the Height of Buildings Act.

Height of Buildings Act (1910)
This federal law imposes maximum heights on buildings within Washington, DC based upon the width of the street, to a maximum height of 130 feet (commercial streets) and 90 feet (residential streets), and 160 feet for parts of Pennsylvania Avenue, NW.

I was a little kid so I really don't remember. That makes sense about the buildings being lower.

Haha! I am pretty sure neither one of us was born. :) But, I read about it and remember them pointing that out here when I first moved here. They didn't want all the buildings to overshadow the important ones.

That makes a lot of sense. I actually am impressed by the forethought that would have required.