SAC Air & Space Museum Gift Shop

in Market Friday11 months ago

Hello Happy Friday Hivers!! Today I take you back to my time at the Strategic Air Command (SAC) Air and Space Museum I visited a couple of weeks ago on a Friday. In this particular article I will go through the gift shop I visited there. I will also include somethings I didn't in my original article. So this will be my article for #marketfriday thank you @dswigle for a great day to share something.

IMG_20230616_110003493_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230616_105937101.jpg

IMG_20230616_110507477.jpg

So probably the best exhibit in my opinion in the museum is that of the SR-71 Black Bird. It's the first thing you see when entering the building. I might be a little bias because it's one of my all time favorite aircraft. The gift shop had prints, cups, hats, models, toys and more of it. If I was in the buying mood I would have picked up a coffee mug or a hat.

IMG_20230616_110202587.jpg

IMG_20230616_110145742_HDR.jpg

The B-25 Mitchell was the the aircraft of choice that was used to bomb Japan intially in retaliation of the attack on Pearl Harbor. Those who were part of the mission were later known as the "Dolittle Raiders." In the second photo is just a see only display of the B-25 which contains a print with some autographs of some of those Dolittle raiders. Also on the display rack is B-17 Aircraft. This aircraft was used in the European theatre and it dropped the most bombs of any aircraft in World War II. A few cups and models were displayed for sale.

IMG_20230616_115607783_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230616_115438927_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230616_115455208_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230616_114335526.jpg

An inside look of B-25 aircraft on display at the museum. The Dolittle Raid included 16 B-25 that took off from an aircraft carrier. This was a one way trip as there wasn't enough fuel to come back. What you see in the pictures are the cockpit, walkway, and bombing bay. Last picture is a B-17 they had on display at the museum.

IMG_20230616_110055397_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230616_110111302.jpg

IMG_20230707_080100488.jpg

A small display that has some SAC embedded images on items. The patches are authentic and they would have been worn on uniforms for those individuals that were assigned to the SAC Command. I have my own small collection of these patches. Last picture is a co-worker's collection, he's got a much larger collection than me.

IMG_20230616_110259123.jpg

IMG_20230616_110237019.jpg

Pictured above are some space related items for sale. Toy space capsules, space stations and astronauts would be cool toys for the kids. Also models of the space shuttle that could spice up most shelves at home.

IMG_20230616_110707006_HDR.jpg

Here up at the front counter they had some cool figurines of more space related items. They would make good knick knacks on a shelf. Also were some souvenir pens with dangling astronauts.

IMG_20230616_110316355.jpg

IMG_20230616_110224742_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230616_110537598_HDR.jpg

This is last of the things I found interesting in the gift shop. They had space googles and a look-a-like space flight suits for the kids. The thing that I almost thought about buying was some space food. Different packaging but all the same type of food. It was a dried frozen ice cream sandwich.

The only bad thing I noticed is almost all of merchandise didn't have price tags on it. I wasn't going to go up to the pay counter to turn away and put the merchandise back if the prices were too high. I guess this was the one negative thing about the whole gift store experience. I wanted to try that space food and keep one for keep sake though.

There were other things the gift shop had that I didn't photograph. This list includes posters, puzzles, books, coloring books, and a few others things.

I hope you enjoyed me showing you around this pretty cool air and space gift store. I appreciate you stopping by and reading this far. Take care, be safe, and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Sort:  

I love the Air and Space Museums. This is the one in Nebraska, yes?

Oh, the days of MAC, SAC, and TAC are deemed inactive and renamed. I am glad they didn't reflect that in the museums. In 1992 SAC was decommissioned and, in its place, the United States Strategic Command (USSTRATCOM) was created.

I was surprised that the museum had no prices. That is a huge disappointment as I feel the same as you about it if I have to ask... For one or two items, I might ask someone working there, but for the whole museum, I won't do it. The ball caps are always a hot item, but that is perhaps because I see so many active duty/retirees wearing them in the DC area, Ditto with the mugs. I used to have a thing for mugs and shot glasses, small reminders of the places I have been or things I have done. I like all the old patches displayed. Different squadron patches and command patches. Even within the military ranks, they were collectible. This is a pretty nice museum with so many interactive stations and from what I hear, some of the best tour guides - and a really nice children's area., I also really like the minime version of the shuttle flight suit.

I have a question about the B-25 that took off from the carrier. You said they didn't have enough fuel, so they were one-way missions... Were they suicide missions like the Kamakazi pilots? I didn't know if that is true. :(

Your post was a fun one for me to read! Thank you for taking us along. I hope you had a great time and which is your favorite exhibit? The Blackbird?

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

Yes this one is located in Ashland, NE just off of Interstate 80. I'm liking you know my language 😁 Here I'll leave you the new USSTRATCOMM building built in 2019.

I see every morning driving into work :)

The Dolittle Raiders Mission with the B-25 were to launch and bomb and try to land somewhere in China. Let's say probably all had rough landings and had to bail out of there aircraft. There was not enough fuel to bomb and return to the aircraft carrier. I think all but 1 of the 16 aircraft were destroyed. Quite a few survived and rejoined American forces. There were a group that were captured by Japanese forces. There's many movies on this raid but the most recent is Pearl Harbor (2001). If you like Ben Affleck he's plays Lt Cole which was Lt Col Dolittle's co-pilot. Interesting fact about 8-9 years ago(maybe longer, guessing lol) I met the last four living Dolittle raiders. Sadly the last one was put to rest a few years ago. I'll leave you with this account of one of the co-pilots (taken at museum)

Oh yes, the Black Bird was my favorite of all. Just something super fast and stealthy looking. I did write an article exclusively about the museum itself. Of course there's really too much to tell everything. Here's the link in case you want to see more: https://ecency.com/hive-194913/@coolmidwestguy/strategic-air-command-and-aerospace-museum

Thank you so much for your appreciation and detailed comment. Until next time :)

SR-71 black bird is something I never seen by my eyes before, it must be so cool. This museum is some part amazed me. Even though some stuff I don't know, but this being a vide of stuff collection that can impressed many visitors.

It's my all-time favorite aircraft. Thanks for dropping by. If you want to see more I did an article on the museum a few articles before.

From gift shop I want to buy cups with my name- and I appreciate your co-workers collection which is obviously a prominent one. By the way from many days, I am seeing aircrafts in your posts. That's 😊 Good. I think it's because of your job which is your passion.
Moreover, you are different kind of blogger on readcash. Isn't it?

Different platforms different flavors :)

Accurate answer

These are some lovely things to behold and just like you I would have lovely picked up hat too. I love hat and these white printed ones are really lovely.

White really goes with a lot and is perfect for hot days.

I want those caps and mugs..they look cool, ☺️

I would get a mug but I already have so many of them. Now a cap you just can't have too many, hehe. I should have just brought the dried ice cream sandwich to counter. Now I won't know how much it is until I go again, haha. I'm sure they have it marked way up

Congratulations @coolmidwestguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!
Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status

Loved the cups and hats😁.. the NASA suit is very cute.

"all of merchandise didn't have price tags on it. I wasn't going to go up to the pay counter to turn away and put the merchandise back if the prices were too high".

Mostly the gift shop is like this Bob, kind of disappointing.

Yes, probably was more than I would be willing to pay. Even so if I really wanted it I would have asked how much. I guess I didn't want it that bad, lol !LOLZ

Why was the banana denied bail?
Every judge knows bananas splits.

Credit: reddit
@jeansapphire, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @coolmidwestguy

(1/2)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM