You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Market Friday!

in Market Friday11 months ago

I didn't go all those places I should have during. I have gotten back to my routine doctor visits, but not the dental. (what??). I am working on gearing my mind up to get all the health stuff caught up. I hate going to do those things, so needing to do several close together makes me anxious !

I know the rhetoric has changed and the initial scare is not on the surface, but I find it funny that people say it is over. My understanding that about the only thing that is over is it being in the forefront of the news anymore. Hardly anybody is telling it, but lots of it is still going on and although the hospitals don't appear to be full of immediately dying people, there seems to be a huge amount of people with the general term "long covid" that in the background, the medical industry has been trying to gear up to understand and address. I know the world could not stay closed forever and closing has made a real mess of things and I don't know the better answer, but it is definitely still here.

I'm trying to do better..... slowly and reluctantly. :)

Sort:  

Many say it to themselves for self-preservation. It has been years and just seeing the light at the end of the tunnel is a relief in many ways. No matter how small, it is better than the doom and gloom that was being spun.

The US had the largest loss with over 107 million cases and 1 million deaths. China fared the best in handling it. Ironic, yes? The hospitals are not full, nor in the panic they once were, but, just like the flu, we still have some cases and people are still dying from it. The strain is not the same and we are working our way back from it all.

I have to made a line in the sand and stepped over it, allowing myself to move forward and live a little. Not in a willy-nilly sort of way, but, there is so much joy that is needed in the world right now. We need to feel safe once again. I was thinking back before 9/11 is the last time I felt like we had it all, or at least never felt like anything could happen to us. After that, I knew what being vulnerable felt like. I had never truly felt that. Do I incessantly worry? No, I think I just never allow myself to take things for granted, Enjoy the little things in life and hope I treat everyone I come across in life as nice and kind as I would want to be treated.

It has changed me in things like that.

I did go to the dentist. I was the first patient in the morning and the office was sanitized every night. I showered when I got home from everywhere. I went grocery shopping, but I never stopped nor got the delivery or drive-by. I worked. I tried hard to remain as normal as possible. And I didn't get it. Nobody in my house did. I know. We were lucky, but we also took proper measures to ensure it.

Long Covid is not quite understood and I am not sure they have enough time to analyze its effects. Some say it will go away in time, but, it is a real thing.

I am not crazy, I know it is still out there, but, so is the flu and other variants of it. None of them will go away, but at least we are not locking ourselves out of life right now.

You will find your way back. Honestly, I can still see the difference in how I feel, even though I have been on three cruises and several vacations last year. It is different and not anything I am fond of, but, I have come to accept the change as ongoing and moving slowly with it.