You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday Presents

in Market Friday10 months ago

Oh, gardening is truly getting expensive, isn't it? A friend of mine told me that I can save the seed pods from my marigolds and plant them next spring. I'm going to try it!

I do buy a lot of perennials. I love the fact that they come back every year. It saves me a ton of money! But I also like some annuals, and of course I plant tomatoes and a few other vegetables every spring. It's always several hundred dollars to get everything planted in the spring. So the idea of only having to buy a few annuals is enticing!

Oh, those sunflowers. They are just stunning. They always seem to be looking at you and smiling, don't they?

Thank you for hosting Market Friday! I'm back after a few weeks off! https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@jayna/market-friday-family-vacation-in-the-small-town-of-spicer-minnesota.

Have a great week!

Sort:  

Gardening is getting quite pricey! That is for sure! It has really only been since Covid, but now it is still ramping up. I'm not sure where this is going to end, but, for sure there won't be any reduction in price, so does that mean that we will be stuck forever with this?

Yikes!

Perennials are the way to go for me in the big gardens, they grow bigger and every couple of years, I split them and get two plots of them, plus it helps stimulate growth. I need to do my black-eyed Susans and Plox and some of my coneflowers and Rudbeckia... okay, most of them.

I always plant my marigolds from the seed pods. I don't think I have bought them in forever. I usually pick a lunch bag full after the first frost and dry them, then plant after my perennials come up. I just threw some of those seeds in the garden yesterday, it will give me great fall color. I don't get frost until maybe February next year. Sometimes not at all.

We missed you, so glad to see you back!

#MarketFriday loves you!