You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Market Friday!

in Market Friday11 months ago

The cave looks massive, I didn't know the Shenandoah Valley had big caves. I do miss that about back home, southern Illinois/Indiana and west Kentucky have so many caves, especially Marengo Cave, a massive one near my home. Funny you mention sunflowers, before the war in Ukraine sunflower oil imported from Ukraine was the cheapest and healthiest cooking oil available here in Cambodia, now it's all gone and we're paying more for Thai soybean oil.

Sort:  

Marengo Cave is one of the privately owned ones, isn't it? But, in a National Park? Now I am going to have to look it up.

The Shenandoah has several caves and I have to admit, they are kind of cool. Having been out to Carlsbad Caverns several times, it isn't nearly as big, but, it is a great size and so fun to wander through. I was wowed the first time I went through one of these caves! Carlsbad was my first. Totally thunderstruck by it.

Oh, that is sad about the sunflower oil. That is what I like best, although I do use a lot of olive oil too. Are you not able to source it from anywhere else? Of course, I guess it makes sense to use Asian sources to support the economy, but, I have never used soybean oil. Do you like it as well, aside from the price?

Hi, Justin! I hope all is well with the whole family!

I think you're right, not 100% sure though because it's been so long. I have been to New Mexico many times for climbing, hiking, and rafting, but unfortunately have never been to the caverns in Carlsbad. We use olive oil too, but a bit expensive here, so it's our luxury oil to use in small amounts. We don't like soybean oil, but there are few choices here, so we just accept and hope for the return of Ukrainian sunflower oil.