Rest in Peace, Stevie Cat

in Hive Petslast month

We had to say a final farewell to Stevie Cat today 😔

He wasn't even our cat, he was our neighbours. But he loved our garden, and when our neighbours were out at work, he'd spend all day sitting with me in my office.

He was a wonderful friend to Tabby, and taught Duncan how to be a cat when he came to us as a rescue. Stevie was a rescue as well, so we don't know exactly how old he was - somewhere between 16 and 21, at a guess. But for 15 years, he was a constant friendly (and cheeky) face in our lives, and my best friend.

Even when he was unwell and starting to fade, he never accepted any limits and would still somehow scramble over the fence to spend time with us (and scrounge food, of course). He is out of pain now, somewhere on the other side of the Rainbow Bridge.

Losing him has hit all of us very, very hard; I'll miss his friendly face popping up at the window every day. I may take a few days off posting on Hive while I get over the worst of it.

I've put a few older photos of him below, because I want to remember him when he was at his prime, not as the skinny little old man he was at the end.

P1000723.JPG

IMG_20210224_105823.jpg
He loved chilling out and sleeping on the folded up recliners on the decking by the pond

IMG_20210610_145404.jpg

2021-06-23 14.28.07.jpg

2022-03-19 14.52.42.jpg

2022-05-10 12.07.43.jpg
He did pick some odd places to have a nap !

2022-10-29 20.00.25.jpg

All photos by me, taken over many years

Sort:  

Aww, so sorry for your lost. 🥺

Awwww, sweet Stevie Cat. <3 My condolences.
I'm sure he is getting lots of treats and headbonks over the Rainbow Bridge. <3
I can't wait to see all my animal friends again there someday.
!LUV

alonicus, faeriestories sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Sorry for your loss! He was such a beautiful kitty. ❤️‍🩹

!LUV

alonicus, hellsveiah sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Loved how you took those lovely photos of him. I believe everyone who read this post would notice the love you actually have for you pet. I truly sorry for your loss, my dear!

Awwwwww.... sorry for your loss man. !LUV

He looks like a great kitty.

We lost Chai last year and it still hurts. !HUG

Dear @alonicus, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @zakludick.
(1/3)

alonicus, zakludick sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

He was such a handsome kitty! I'm sorry for your loss.