Unforgettable Childhood Memory

in Indiaunited24 days ago

children-5833685_1280.jpg
Image Source

Memories are meant to be treasured, most times remind us of our past whether the good times or the bad times that is why it is pertinent that we try as much as possible to create memories with everyone around us because there will come to a point in our lives where we will not be opportune to be in that position and may not likely be with those same people and all that we may have to remember them are those memories we created while we were with them.

Every day when I remember my childhood days, I am always so glad that my parents allowed me to explore such a stage in my life because if I had not had such an opportunity to embrace my childhood season and be allowed to behave like a child, I am sure I would have been a mess because my childhood memories are the only things I can remember.

Memories of my childhood or memories of me behaving like childhood are the only things that have sustained me right from my teenage years down to my adulthood I mean, for a girl who had to take up the sole responsibility of fending for her family at a tender age of fourteen, you can imagine, she had no time to exhibit her youthful exorbitant because she had to grow up and become the adult and head that oversees the affairs of her family.




children-1822704_1280.jpg
Image Source

Today's prompt says;

Tell us about that one Childhood Memory of yours that is the most precious to you. Whether it taught you something or just made you laugh or impacted you the most in your life later on. Reflect on why that memory stuck to you and became the best memory.

For someone who can only remember her childhood days, you can imagine that deciding to choose one out of the many beautiful memories I have will be hard but regardless follow me I have some beautiful memories to talk about for posterity's sake and to give you a glimpse of what my childhood looked like.




My father was an officer of the law and as such, we lived in the barracks, more like a ghetto, so everyone knew everyone and every kid knew every kid. It was a small community, filled with love and so much fun but it was one of the most wild places you can ever think of.

So, one of those days on Saturday precisely, my mom and a few other mothers called us their children together and told us they had a task to give to us, and anyone who came out best and first took the prize home.

At first, we were not happy about the new development because Saturdays are days we get to play out our heart from morning till night, Saturdays are days we get to run through the four corners of the community because it was free days for us but when we heard about the prize that came with the task, we decided to do it. What we didn't know was that our mothers didn't want us to go out and play like we usually did, they wanted us to do the chores but they knew that we wouldn't do it if something was not attached.




pexels-photo-2738167.jpeg
Image Source

So, the task was to wash all the dirty dishes including the used pots in the house, whoever dishes and pots came out clean and sparkling without stains got money from all the mothers whose children were partaking in the washing competition. The worst of all was that the pots they gave us were the ones they used on the kerosene stove and the local kitchen (charcoal), so you can imagine to what extent that pot was dirty.

I was the only girl among four boys, who were my friends too, so we accepted the challenge and began washing. At a point, we almost wanted to turn to our mothers and tell them we weren't interested but because of the prize, we decided to carry on.




It was indeed tedious work because we had to scrub wash to make sure that the pots and plates were clean and sparkling with no traces of dried leftover food in the plates and black charcoal at the back of the pot.

When the time was up, we were asked to stop and the dishes were all examined by our mothers individually at the end of the day, I came out the best my plates and pots were clean and sparkling and I was given the sum of five thousand naira for coming out as the winner.




To be a part of this contest, here is the link to the contest post




Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Five thousand naira must have been a lot of money back then. I'm sure you enjoyed yourself with the money

Those moms were smart o. Imagine tying you kids down with a prize, hahaha....very funny.

Childhood memories seem like the best because of our childlike and carefree nature then. There was nothing for us to think of than play, eat and sleep. Being child was truly fun.