The Sibling Battleground

in Indiaunited20 days ago

Sibling rivalry is a real thing. I know this firsthand because I’ve experienced it myself. Growing up with siblings has its own perks and pitfalls. It can be both sweet and bitter. In my opinion, the perks of having siblings greatly outweigh the pitfalls.

I grew up with 3 older siblings. With our age difference, one would assume the relationship between us would be strict. But it was actually the opposite for us. My siblings and I played like cats and rats. As the last child of the family, I often complained about running too many errands and doing the most stressful chores. I mean, how do you expect me not to complain when they make me wash plates more than 3 times a day, while others just sit back and play with their phones? We always got along, but there's a limit to how many errands and plates one person can handle, you know?

One of the pitfalls of being the youngest in the family is that when your parents are not around, your older siblings are in charge. So, whenever my parents were not around, my siblings would seize the opportunity to boss me around. It was not such a big deal because I wasn’t a stubborn kid, but on rare occasions when my head got turned, I would act stubborn. Since my siblings were stronger, they would teach me some hot lessons. Whenever I did something they didn't like, they would wait until my parents were out and punish me.

I grew up with two sisters and an older brother. Growing up, My sisters were my greatest “enemies.” There was a time when I was convinced that they were witches sent from my village to punish me. My brother, on the other hand, was different. Unlike every other older brother, he was unique. And unlike my sisters, he was different. I could go out to my friend's place as long as I got permission from him and returned early.

The relationship between my brother and me was different. We played games together, wrestled on the bed, and did other cool things. I don't know what made it so different, I can't seem to wrap my head around it. It was just different. There were times when I'd raise my voice at him and we'd say things to each other, but unlike my sisters who'd beat and chase me, my brother never got angry at me. He never raised his voice at me, until something happened:

I was in my last year of high school and preparing to write my final exams. My brother had graduated from the university at that time and was preparing to serve the nation. I closed from school by 4 pm. I remember getting home around 4:30 pm. Immediately I entered the house, I sensed the tense atmosphere. My mom and siblings were busy searching for something, and I later found out that they were looking for an important file that belonged to my brother. He needed it urgently. It was as if no one even noticed me when I walked in. I felt so little.

My brother was cranky, throwing obstacles at every turn. My mom told me to join the search and help find the file. I don’t know what possessed me, I opened my big mouth and blurted out: “Why should I help him find it, when he carelessly misplaced it?” My brother heard and got furious. His eyes turned red, and he started breathing heavily. I knew I was in trouble. Just as he was about to come for me, Mom intervened. She held him back with all her strength, giving me a chance to escape through the back door.

They later found the file. When everything was settled, I entered the house. My brother and I didn’t talk for days. He never apologized for what he did, and I also never apologized for what I said. After a few days, we got back to the way we used to be.

This is my submission to the Inleo prompt suggestion for the month of May. The topic is: Sibling rivalry can be really ugly, which cases have you witnessed? Do you fight with your siblings? How has it been depicted in fiction?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

I admire the things you learn from growing among your siblings

Thank you so much for stopping by.