Meaning of Absorb / Absorb Pronunciation

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Welcome to English with Nate. I am Nate.

In this video, I will provide four definitions of absorb, examples sentences so you can practice listening, and an opportunity to practice speaking.

Definition #1:
to take something in, especially little by little

Definition #2:
to reduce the effect of a physical force, shock, or change

Definition #3:
to completely understand facts or ideas and remember them

Definition #4:
to take up someone's attention completely

Example #1:
The paper towel absorbed the spilled drink.

Example #2:
The barrier is designed to absorb a bomb blast.

Example #3:
The students were not able to absorb all of the test material.

Example #4:
My side hustle is absorbing more time and attention than expected.

Phonetic Spelling: uhb · zorb

In the comments section, write a word that includes the word ABSORB.

Were you able to ABSORB all of these definitons?

For a complete list of my definition videos, check out my YouTube page: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChRN_kiAZSd6JxDoWrvw3tQ

I will be moving all of my videos over to 3Speak.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Thanks for continuing with this. You're building quite the collection now.