How do I teach new vocabulary to my English students

in Home Edders10 months ago (edited)




Hola, hola amigos educadores y padres de familia.


En una publicación anterior les presenté mi proyecto educativo llamado Happy Learning Kids el cual tiene como objetivo principal crear material didáctico digital para la enseñanza del idioma Inglés a niños.
En esta publicación les quiero contar cómo elaboro este tipo de materiales y como trabajo mis clases con los niños.

Hello, hello fellow educators and parents.

In a previous post I presented you my educational project called Happy Learning Kids which has as its main objective to create digital didactic material for teaching English to children.
In this post I want to tell you how I elaborate this kind of materials and how I work my classes with the children.


Lo primero que hago es elegir un tema que sea atractivo para los niños y comenzar a desarrollar el material. En la web existen muchas opciones y alternativas disponibles, sin embargo, yo quise diseñar mi propio material. Es un proceso que toma tiempo, pero sinceramente, es muy divertido y relajante. Aunque lo que estoy haciendo son cosas muy básicas y sencillas, me llena de emoción trabajar con materiales creados por mí misma.

Bien, para esta publicación elegí el tema de los animales de la granja. El tema de los animales siempre capta la atención de los chicos, es por ello que siempre incluyo este tema en mis primeras sesiones de clases.

The first thing I do is choose a topic that is attractive to the children and start developing the material. There are many options and alternatives available on the web, however, I wanted to design my own material. It is a time consuming process, but honestly, it is a lot of fun and relaxing. Even though what I am making are very basic and simple things, it fills me with excitement to work with materials I created myself.

Well, for this publication I chose the theme of farm animals. The theme of animals always captures the kids' attention, that's why I always include this theme in my first class sessions.


Una vez seleccionado el tema, trabajo en la plataforma Canva.com para elegir las imágenes que voy a usar para mis recursos. Me encanta seleccionar imágenes muy tiernas y llamativas. Con estas imágenes elaboro algunas flash cards que me sirven para trabajar el vocabulario. Estas flash cards también las utilizo para subirlas a la plataforma Educaplay y con ellas crear las diferentes actividades interactivas. Estas dos plataformas son mis dos grandes aliadas en este proyecto.

Once the theme is selected, I work on the Canva.com platform to choose the images I'm going to use for my resources. I love to select very cute and eye-catching images. With these images I make some flash cards that I use to work on vocabulary. I also use these flash cards to upload them to the Educaplay platform and use them to create different interactive activities. These two platforms are my two great allies in this project.


Además de las flash cards también elaboro una hoja de vocabulario en la cual coloco todas las imágenes y su nombre en inglés. Con esta hoja hacemos ejercicios de pronunciación y de escritura.

Del mismo modo, redacto algunas oraciones que me permitirán mostrarle a los estudiantes cómo usar el vocabulario que están aprendiendo en frases y oraciones y no solo de manera aislada. Para los estudiantes más avanzados utilizo algunos textos cortos referentes al mismo tema. Cada actividad se adapta al nivel del estudiante.

In addition to the flash cards I also make a vocabulary sheet in which I put all the images and their names in English. With this sheet we do pronunciation and writing exercises.

In the same way, I write some sentences that will allow me to show the students how to use the vocabulary they are learning in phrases and sentences and not just in isolation. For more advanced students I use some short texts on the same topic. Each activity is adapted to the level of the student.

Con el fin de reforzar el contenido durante la clase, trabajamos con actividades interactivas en la plataforma Educaplay, la cual nos permite cargar nuestras propias imágenes y audios. Por lo general uso las mismas imágenes de las flash cards para crear las actividades. En educaplay puedes crear sopas de letras, crucigramas, memorias, actividades de completación de textos, entre muchas otras actividades. Los estudiantes disfrutan mucho este tipo de actividades y a través de la repetición del vocabulario por medio de diversas actividades, ellos aprenden mucho más rápido y de una manera entretenida.

In order to reinforce the content during class, we work with interactive activities on the Educaplay platform, which allows us to upload our own images and audios. I usually use the same images from the flash cards to create the activities. In Educaplay you can create word searches, crossword puzzles, memories, text completion activities, among many other activities.


Con el fin de que practiquen el vocabulario en casa, les entrego un pdf con algunas actividades para imprimir y trabajar como reforzamiento. Estos imprimibles suelen ser sopas de letras, hojas de vocabulario para colorear y juegos de memorias para recortar y jugar. Para crear estos imprimibles me apoyo con algunas plantillas de canva que te permiten modificarlas según cada tema.

In order for you to practice vocabulary at home, I am providing a pdf with some printable activities to work on for reinforcement. These printables are usually word searches, vocabulary coloring sheets and memory games to cut out and play. To create these printables I use some canva templates that allow you to modify them according to each topic.


Lo más nuevo que estoy haciendo es crear videos con el vocabulario de cada tema y colocarles el audio para que puedan verlos y practicar la pronunciación. Estos videos los estoy compartiendo en mi usuario de Instagram y Tiktok, allí se pueden descargar y son de libre uso.

Espero que toda esta información sea de provecho para ustedes. Gracias por leer, saludos y bendiciones.

The newest thing I am doing is creating videos with the vocabulary of each topic and putting the audio so you can watch them and practice the pronunciation. I am sharing these videos on my Instagram and Tiktok user, there you can download them and they are free to use.

I hope all this information will be of benefit to you. Thanks for reading, greetings and blessings.


YOU CAN ALSO READ:

MY NEW EDUCATIONAL PROYECT : HAPPY LEARNING KIDS

Do you know EDUCAPLAY?


FOLLOW INSTAGRAM


Añadir un título.png


El banner de portada y los separadores de textos son diseñados por mi en Canva.com
Uso traductor Deepl


Thanks for your visit.png

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing an interesting activity. As a parent, I need to have more knowledge about different strategies on how to teach vocabulary in a fun and interesting way.

Thanks for reading my post, I am glad you like it.
It is a pleasure for me to share my activities.

Congratulations your publication has been chosen among the best of the day.

KEEP CREATING GOOD CONTENT.

image.png