Empty Nest Neurotic

in #hive-enginelast month

EmptyShoppinSpringfinalweb.jpg
The More Things Change 2019. Oil on canvas, 48 x 32"

In 2019 our youngest daughter graduated high school and went to college. I had empty nest syndrome pretty bad, and worked through the separation anxiety by making paintings about my condition intending to show them on campus at a fundraiser in the spring. Then COVID came, and the many new anxieties to manage.
I had the show anyway, in true Stuckist fashion, at our house (video below), and on Facebook Live. Nearly 100 people watched. Pandemics make for great captive audiences.
Here are some of the paintings. The video is partially without sound (Youtube® copyright policy—I had Miles Davis playing in the background. Somebody not Miles Davis is still earning his royalities.) The elegant lady guest is my wife, Rose. Our daughter appears several times in different costume to give the appearance of more guests “in the flesh”.

Emptyduress2 2.jpg
Empty Nest Rearrangement 2019. Oil on canvas, 20 x 16"

EmptyFamilyDays 2.jpg
On Family days, Very Early Saturday Morning, Many Fathers Were Out Taking Pictures 2019. Oil on canvas, 24 x 18"

I sent this one to the college President in thanks for the excellent job she (and the school) did keeping the classes on campus during the entire pandemic.

EmptyFootballfinal.jpg
You Told Me How Great College Is While the Coach Chewed Out the Secondary 2019. Oil on composite, 18 x 24"

EmptyFrosh 2 2.jpg
Full nest, October Night 2019. Oil on canvas, 18 x 24"

EmptyFun 2.jpg
There Are So Many Fun Things to do Now That the Girls Have Grown 2019. Oil on canvas, 16 x 20"

EmptyGrandparents 2.jpg
Visiting the Grandchildren 2019. Oil on canvas, 20 x 16"

Emptyhops 2.jpg
Picking Hops to Ferment Bad batch of Beer 2019. Oil on canvas, 12 x 16"

EmptyKissCook.jpg
Daylight Savings Might Inspire New and Interesting Dinner Menus 2019. Oil on wood composite, 12 x 16"

EmptyNaturecenter.jpg
Somedays We Take Walks at the Nature Center and Lose It 2019. Oil on canvas board, 9 x 12"

Emptywork.jpg
I Could Do This All Day Long, But YOU Have to Work! 2019. Oil on canvas, 18 x 24"

Here is a video of the now famous COVID home exhibition in April, 2020:

Sort:  

I've always found your titles intriguing, and love hearing you read them. Great video. Love your explanations. These paintings seem a lot like writing haiku as @boxcarblue does it. Check his work out.

As for the woman/man thing, were you not the primary caregiver for your children? I imagine empty nest would be more difficult for the parent whose life would change more.

This is a great video, thank you very much for posting it, and yes, I did have a nice time. The conversation was good, and I have a better understanding of Stuckism.

Okay. I followed @boxcarblue. Thanks.
I was the primary care giver. And boy did my life change!
Care-providing is an occupation I would get into again, but I don’t want a dog and I must love the people I am caring for. Looks like I’m stuck painting for the duration.
April 2020 was such a strange time. I am honored that you stopped by the exhibition:)

Your reflections on transitioning to an empty nest resonate deeply, Ron. It's a profound shift in daily life and self-perception that many don't openly discuss.

We have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares Hive community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God. You can also follow our official Youtube Channel. Keep doing the great job ❤️

Thank you for the curation.
You will find that I might too open with my life:)
I would love to follow/join your community!

Congratulations, you received an ecency upvote through the curator @sahi1. Keep spreading love through ecency

I will. Thank you @sahi1!