Inkito Update - Fixing bugs

in #hive3 years ago

Hello there,

You might be wondering what are the latest improvements on Inkito, the one and only comic-reading front-end powered by the Hive blockchain.

Well recently I was mostly fixing bugs on the reader prototype I recently released. Having tested the page with content from other artists using different format, I noticed issues that required my attention.

1/ The Archive

image.png

I realized displaying all images in the archive was way too much, especially for long-time running comics with a lot of banners like @katharsisdrill's "Phill from GCHQ".

That why I changed the archive from displaying all pages to only the first one of each episode (or blog in Hive).

2/ The Page Turn

Another issue I encountered happened when the posted images were smaller than the window height. It would generate a glitch as two element would be present in the viewport at the same time.

PageChange1.gif

The worst being that when you open the comments it would be impossible to read or even use.

I changed that by detecting the elements in viewport manually when scrolling and adding them to a list. Then I would pick the first one as the current one.

It makes for a much smoother experience as seen below.

PageChange3.gif

I pushed those changes to the reader prototype.
You can go read the awesome Phill from GCHQ over there and tell me all about it. ;-)

NB: I'm still noticing some content jump, due to the image loading progressively. That should be fixed with my next development on lazy image loading.

Thanks for passing by,

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Looks like good progress. I expect it is no easy task to build a good user experience. I did notice a couple of things.

Just jumps episodes

Screenshot_20211030_173609.png

It also includes every image in the post. Some are just for links to things like Patreon. I expect it's not simple to detect which is the main comic. Could it be done by checking the size is over a minimum?

!PIZZA

Oh that's a good idea for the size of the image!

Formatting existing Hive blogs is the hardest. I know it doesn't always fit. I was thinking the creator could have the option to come edit the series and hide certain images only on Inkito. I'll think more about that.

I did notice the episode jump, after a while the missing episodes do come up. This is probably due to images not loading in order. I have to add a placeholder image for sure. Also I'll work on image optimization next so that should solve this issue. ;-)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(5/10) tipped @inkito (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @inkito! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!