Sort:  

Hmmm, Pinterest maybe? After StumbleUpon has gone, I think I started to pin .... but with a few years passed ... 😎

I have no clue what they're doing on Pinterest.

They "Pin" content = sites, services, photos, music, etc... very similar as StumbleUpon ...

So it's a link sharing platform. One would require a large following for those 'pins' to be consumed though, correct? I've seen the site show up in search results but it was confusing. Just a bunch of shit thrown together was my takeaway.

Well, whatever you take. When I started, I started collecting paintings, mostly psychedelic, then steampunk style, then I published my kaleidoscopes, in short, you're making a collection of something. But Pinterest is interesting because it is the platform that has the best click-through rate, or, of those who look at something there, many more decide to buy it than on other platforms. That is why there are now a lot of corporations promoting their brands there. And especially fashion, because there are far more women than men. Well, I read that in some analyses a few years ago... I don't know how it is now, but they are obviously doing well, I think.
Since we're debating, I went back to look at my profile after a year or two. Yeah, and I've been collecting infographics... I've been keeping it as a kind of repository. 😎

Hmmmm. That could be useful. But it requires building a following as well, correct?

It depends on what you want. if you want to have it as a repository you don't need followers because it's just for your own use, but if you want to make a name or a brand then you have to work on your following and offer your products ... classic marketing ...