Follow Friday: Pump it up

in #hive4 months ago

The News

There is not much to say about the $HIVE price. It is down to around 30c now. That may be a good thing if you are buying. I bought some more via Transak for #hpud. You can access that via the Peakd wallet page, but it may not be available in all countries due to local regulations. I tried to buy mine with Google Pay, but that did not work and I had to do a direct bank transfer instead.

$HIVE

I hope you follow @lordbutterfly. As well as producing the Freechain documentary (which won a festival audience award and working with the Hive rally car he is also launching a new Hive music contest with nice prizes. The hope is to get more musicians to join Hive.

I have been advocating this too. If some artists join and bring their fans then it could make a big difference. The fans can support the musicians whilst earning themselves. We can build an economy around music here. Music fans tend to be dedicated (well it is short for fanatic) and we need that sort of dedication.

Friday Follows

  • I mentioned the Hive rally car above. If you are a fan of that sport then you should follow the driver @ssekulji for his insights.
  • I just heard about @retzark that is a card game based on Hive. They were involved in the Town Hall this week that had lots of Hive game projects involved. It is great to hear people discussing ideas. With the Hive community being so small we need cooperation to progress.
  • @coldbeetrootsoup are running a contest on Twitter with $HIVE to be won.
  • @leighscotford is back on Hive with updates on his garden design business and his car racing project.

These folk get a share of the post rewards.

The Dog House

I use the Ecency app on my phone to have access the Hive. They have their own microblogging service called Waves. You get a feed of all that is posted there and I have to say it is mostly pretty low quality with people saying 'good morning', sharing food photos and selfies. As with Threads there is potential to share useful news as well as actually entertaining people. I do give some small votes there on things I enjoy. I think there is wasted potential for this to be a more compelling service.

That was not my main issue of complaint this time as I saw someone ask there whether it was worth posting on Hive as the curators get 50% of the rewards. Well you will make nothing if you do not post and you will get a smaller share on other platforms that use advertising. This person had been around for a while, so they ought to know how Hive works.

There has to be some incentive for people to curate here. The 50% they get will be shared between all those who vote up a post. In order to earn something you need to be prepared to lock away your funds for up to 13 weeks. By curating you can something (I get around 9% APR), but you could make more elsewhere, e.g. HBD savings or swap pools. Everyone wants those whale votes, but would they be prepared to build a stake themselves?

I have not seen anything else online that offers such a potential to earn fairly well just from posting your thoughts online. Some other platforms may require you to build a large following before you get anything, but on Hive you can earn from your first post. If you can stake (power up) at least some of your rewards then you can earn from curation too. Whilst some keep complaining the system is 'not fair' others just get on with it.

It is not a perfect system, but it offers opportunities.

The End

We are already into February. That means I have another #BritList post coming up. @michelmake is doing his own version for the Netherlands using some of my code, which he has enhanced. It would be great to see this done for more countries. Get in touch if you need help with it.

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

Sort:  

Totally agree and thats one of the million of problems with this world we live in, ppl want gains without commitment, Hive has not been easy for me to navigate, there is no manual, rules list but there are many good blog posts with advice that I found by searching, no body invite me and I knew no body on Hive when I got in but its because I have commit to stack more HP and stay active engaging and post that some accounts start to notice me, no social media account is easy to grow but Hive does have a balance system, its not perfect but it requires effort to grow, those who dont see the opportunity just quit 🤷‍♂️

It is interesting this thought that 50% should not go to the curators. The min I am getting some reward out of any activity it is a business (how much ever small or indirect it might be) On YouTube, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn I have to play with the algo to ensure that my posts are seen. And people have to pay to get those sites to push you hard. That pushing is done by curation here rather than an arbitrary algo. So people focusing on the rewards should think of it as a cost of acquiring more eyeballs which can only make their personal brand grow. Personally I think of it as a return gift - "thank you for visiting my post and making it known, here's a token of appreciation."

I think it used to be 75% to the author, but it got changed. Perhaps curators needed a bigger incentive. There have not been major changes to the algorithm lately. I do okay from curation. It can be about the same as my post rewards, but it's taken years to get to that.

Whilst some keep complaining the system is 'not fair' others just get on with it.

I think this pretty much sums it up! It is surprising how much time and effort people waste complaining about stuff (Hive and real life too). Life isn't fair, and there is stuff out of our control, but there is also stuff that is in our control, and that we can change and improve those areas at least.

I understand the need to vent occasionally, but most people would be better off deciding what they need to do, and then flippin' doing it.

Actually Hive often isn't 'fair' in that it won't always work in your favour. It's made up of imperfect people and some are not so nice. I think the majority want it to succeed. I've had my share of downvotes, but people who did that tended to leave.

I use Ecency a great deal, I’m using it now to write this reply for example and think Waves is a great idea, maybe if we all had a go at writing some better micro blog style posts there it will improve. In some ways the conversation there is better than Meta Threads!!

I want to keep on pushing myself to write more and more journal stuff here. Happy to put effort in, I’m not one for instant gratification, a little bit of graft is good for you!

I've not used Meta Threads at all. I'm not sure anyone I know is on there and I don't have time for another platform.

Afortunadamente acá en Venezuela podemos comprar Hive por @Orinoco.io

The price will go mental like everything else after the bitcoin halving nonsense upcoming. Everything goes crazy then, it's a double edged sword.

That's quite the prize listing for the music contest! Should attract some outsiders maybe. Or at least give more of a spotlight to music on hive on the socials.

I will have to try ecency for the waves thing. I haven't looked at it in ages

I keep an eye on a few of the front ends. A bit of competition drives Innovation.

I hope to stack up more hive now that the price has Its belly on the ground. I hope to be handsomely rewarded when it picks up again. Thanks for writing and have a great weekend.

You have to play the long game and promote Hive.

Wow, those are some pretty impressive HBD rewards. That can go quite a long way towards helping someone out.

I like it when the price goes down for HPUD and then back up again but so far it did not go back up. 😂

I think the price is quite reasonable now
We can always do better though

Of course it could be worse. Some of us remember $STEEM at 6c! It's up to all of us to help it improve.

I would love it if it failed to that again for a short time!

I think a few people would be buying it up, but I hope it can hold up for now. It helps confidence.

It does. Am fairly confident we won't dip below twenty cents but you just never know

Ecency es excelente yo te felicito es muy interesante..

Let's expect hive make more improvement movement upward soon