What The Fork!?!? - Immediate Effects of HF26

in #hive2 years ago

It's been more than a year since our last Hardfork. That is when certain changes are implemented that go deep down, affecting the inner workings of Hive, which means for a while nothing works, or at least not as nicely as it should. This time the implemented changes are less spectacular, speaking from my own perspective. But I don't intend listing all the technical details here. Others have done a much better job at it, such as in this post, and many others.


image source

Autovotes Down!

Okay, it's good to know that I can now delegate resource credits without having to delegate HP (something I never felt I needed), or that now I'll be able to cast two consecutive votes without having to wait 3 second (was this seriously a priority?). But the thing that made me recall this fork is seeing my last post perform so poorly. Was it really so uninspiring that it barely generated any upvotes? (At the time of writing this they're still under 20...) Probably not, though at times I am quite surprised how many more - or sometimes less - votes a post generates than I expected! But in this case it was more likely posted at the worst possible time.

When it comes to giving votes to my favorite Hiveans, those people that I've come to know to make good, valuable, and interesting posts on a regular basis, I have added to my autovote list. The fact that I'm not to only one to do so can be seen in moments like this. With autovotes down - I use HiveVote - all the votes I got were manual ones. Thank you all who actively clicked on the upvote button! At the same time I realize I should also express my appreciation to everyone whose vote I did not get this time: Thank you everyone who has me on autovote! Without you all my posts would look discouragingly poor.

And Now What? Shit Posts or Storm Votes?

So now I'm thinking how to make best use of this situation. Some folks suggested posting low quality entries, so called shit posts, since they most likely won't generate too many votes in the first place. Though I can see their reasoning, I really don't like to clutter up my blog with pointless stuff. (This post is actually getting awfully close to it...) Even during the Great Milking Phase two years ago (don't try to look for it, I just made up this name now), when Hive was created, and many of us continued posting on both chains, it became popular among some to post really crap entries on the old chain, to simply milk it for all it was worth... Well, even then I got tired of it after two such milk posts. I guess a pic of a glass of milk doesn't really go that far, does it?

Another approach I could take during this forking day, is simply cast as many votes as I can manually. Looking at my feed, the lack of vote(r)s is quite apparent in general. On one hand, this would mean that I'd be making a huge difference, even though my HP is not that huge. But since I'm normally happy even about the tiniest so called "dust vote" (another term I learned from this post - thank you @rentmoney ), I assume it won't be any different for others either. On the other hand, I may even come to benefit from this, when it comes time to distribute half of the rewards the post generated among its upvoters. Though until then a lot can happen, as this is still a week away.

Until then, if you happen to read this, and can relate to it through your own post, why don't you check out what I wrote about this impressive collection of traditional German songs. And if you like it, maybe you can help me crack the 20-vote-mark! 😉 As for me, I'm off to make some quick votes all around. - Though I believe they'll still be at least three seconds apart.

Sort:  

Will the autos kick back in tomorrow or is it disabled? I noticed my power went to 100% this morning 😭

According to this post it should be back pretty soon.

Yeah, that's a weird thing to see (especially on 3Speak) that you got 300 votes, but your post has 3 views...! If there are no autovotes, maybe you get 2 upvotes (perhaps one of the readers don't like your content, lol)

It's true, I'm sure lots of times people simply click a vote for the title, the image, or the author's name, without even opening the post. If it's a video there is the extra step of starting it (which doesn't mean they'll finish watching it). Then there are all the auto votes. In the end it makes you wonder how many people actually received the information...

The exception is comments like yours here: They leave no trace of a doubt that the commenter has read, and probably even liked the content. So a big thank you for that!

Just clicked on the post about German songs... upvoted! Something I'll have to change apparently, my automatic upvotes I thought I had you on aren't set up!!! What the heck, for how many years now???

I didn't post shit posts on steem, but I did copy pasted everything I did on Hive for a while.. so I guess I milked it too.

Thank you! 😁 Given the current situation I guess this extra plug was acceptable.
As for your auto votes, I have to admit I've encountered the same thing too: you think you had someone up, but then I realize that wasn't the case after all. Was it a bug or my own fallibility? Does it matter? Thanks for checking anyway.

I'd just noticed that my voting power was way higher than it should have been when I saw this, good to know that the problem is larger than just me. I've had a few ideas for posts that I've been kicking around in my head but never actually worked on because I didn't really expect them to do well, but if nothing is going to do well then what the hell, I might as well. Thanks for the inspiration!

On the shitposting front, I got bored a while back and wrote a 'fake poem,' tried to make it sound deep and meaningful while keeping it bereft of actual meaning. It did surprisingly well and I'm still not sure what to make of it.

Hahaha, yeah that's the cool thing about poetry: by trying to make it look fake it will sound so much more profound and interesting.

I also noticed that there are no auto votes today. But I did get some votes and nice comments for my post today. But even though personal votes are more personal than auto votes, it pisses me off a bit not to see a larger number of votes. Because I also made an effort for this post and it feels a bit like I burned today's pictures. but cheer up... no need for shitty posts or giving up. because i have more good pictures and will continue as before... 🔥

That's right! These are the moments when we tend to look around and try different approaches. Whether they end up working or not, ultimately we will benefit in different ways. For example this here right now: without the hardfork I may never have seen your photos. (The ones of Porto are pretty amazing!)

I have noticed it too and can truly agree with that.. auto upvote was quite Good thing to inspire and encourage that our post is really having a Good impression like Human satisfaction.

But at some point I will say after this Auto upvote ain't working we are Getting to see "Real Time readers or users" spending time to read > upvote content on hive.

Although There are high chances that mostly of posts aren't being reached to as many active users on hive as it should be for whatever reason. I just want to see how things will change, people will adapt or grow and react.

Well, Read that post of yours and upvoted it as it's really worth it!

Makes sense... But we shouldn't forget factoring in that since many people knew the fork was coming and expected things to be down for a while, they may not have bothered even checking in, let alone posting. So yeah, things are always more complex than they first seem.

Thanx for the other upvote too! 😁

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!