Two Big Jobs Done - May 7, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Coyote on sandhill crop May 2024.jpg

On Tuesday morning when I went up to do chores, this coyote was standing on the sandhill in the sun. It stayed there while I did chores, went back to the house for the camera, and long enough for me to manage this one good shot from the barn. Obviously very worried about my presence.

House - spring morning crop May 2024.jpg

On the way back I took this one. The flowering trees were more prominent to the eye.

Watering seedlings crop May 2024.jpg

I’d hoped for little or no dew on the grass as I had at least 4 hours of mowing to do. But we had a heavy dew so I wouldn’t be able to start until 10AM. So I got the seedlings watered. I like this pitcher for that, as it empties quickly into the trays.

MacIntosh, lilacs, crabapple crop May 2024.jpg

The light was just not good for capturing the color of the trees.

White lilac flowers crop May 2024.jpg

White lilac flowering

Yard mowed1 crop May 2024.jpg

But by 10AM I finally got started. I use the push mower for trim work first, then the rider mower. I got the trim done by 11:15AM and could finally sit down on the mower.

Yard mowed2 crop May 2024.jpg

This is the area I showed needing mowed on Monday. I did the Pasture garden area early on as it’s the hardest.

Yard mowed3 crop May 2024.jpg

Comfrey flowering after being frosted, under the MacIntosh apple

I finished the yard about 12:45PM and went up to mow the areas at the barn. I had almost finished at 1:30PM when a BuyNothing person arrived to dig feverfew. When she left, I finished the mowing and sat down to rest until my brother came home.

Little apple from inside truck crop May 2024.jpg

We planned to finish the tree cutting along the driveway. I had had a couple hours rest when he got home around 4:15PM. This little apple tree had the brush cleaned out around it. This is my view from inside the truck. I drove and later picked up brush.

Little apple tree crop May 2024.jpg

The little apple tree is growing in front of these 2 big trees, not an ideal place. But it’s far enough from the driveway that it will be ok for a few years. There was another apple tree farther up the driveway, but it’s much too close to the driveway and so got a major haircut.

Driveway to barn crop May 2024.jpg

We got all the trees done and then cleaned up the brush. It got pretty late, we finished about 7:15PM.

Driveway to road crop May 2024.jpg

The trees were cut as high as my brother could reach from the bed of the truck. Hopefully they are high enough for a while so trucks and farm equipment aren’t being hit by branches.

Cloud circle crop May 2024.jpg

My brother cut back a lot of the saplings that had sprung up also. Once finished, we both got showers and went to find some supper at the local market. I looked for some of the seeds we needed and found cosmos only.

My brother sat on the front steps while I got my shower and was quite taken with the circle in the clouds.

I never got to bed until 10PM.

I am so glad to get the trees project finished and that big first mowing done. Now I can move onto planting the vegetable and herb gardens, and maybe some flowerbeds.

New West - verbascum flowers crop May 2024.jpg

New West garden – pink verbascum flowers

Small garden - area to finish crop May 2024.jpg

On Wednesday I had hoped to get this section of the Small garden prepped and mulched but the forecast changed and the rain starts early. So I changed plans for when my general helper comes and we will do errands, shopping, and change over the winter clothes for summer clothes. I had already started washing the winter outerwear.

Sort:  

A lot of good work has been done in one day! You have all the necessary tools for the job with good helpers! The drive way looks very neat now.

I am all tired out just reading your story for your day's work, :-) Have fun planting!

Yeah, sometimes it seems a bit overwhelming, just typing it out...

Good job
Do you take breaks in between your farm work or you do it at once and eat at r do any other thing you want to do later?

Once started I tend to work straight through. I've found if I stop I either don't get started again, or find it very hard to get started. So I work til I can't then I will eat and rest. But remember I can only, usually, work for 2 or maybe 3, hours a day... Tuesday was the exception.

Just look at the way you are curtailing the plants in your garden, very neat and attractive. Kudos to you. 💮💮 Please , if i may ask , is mulch a kind of fertilizer or what?

Mulch is an organic (plant) material to cover the soil to:

  1. Feed the biology in the soil
  2. Keep weeds down
  3. Keep watering to a minimum
  4. Protect the soil

It is not technically a "fertilizer".

It is not easy to take care of the garden and take care of many things. You have to water it on time and you have to take care of many things, otherwise the trees and plants get damaged.

The good thing about mulch is there’s very little watering. But there are indeed many other things to get done in a timely fashion.

The pink Verbascum and white lilac flowers look very cute. Your garden is well kept, i like it

Aren't coyotes harmful? I really love that pitcher.
The trees are adding colour to the beauty I see all around. The driveway is looking spick and span!

I prefer the coyotes to the rodent invasion that happens when they are wiped out. The rabbits, chipmunks and rats are really terrible when there's not enough coyotes to keep the populations in check.

Your garden shows you have been doing so much work on it. The grass is looking so green, thanks to Spring.

I see you have been able to do so much work in your garden, no, this is more than a garden because the area is huge. I commend you on the job, it couldn't have been easy for you but it's all looking so well kept 👍