Things are great but its people that make the journey worthwhile.

in #hl-exclusive11 months ago

Everyone has a dream
...Something they want.
....Something they can't afford
.....But wish they could.

I've been reading about some of those dreams in this weeks Hive Learner posting topic.
Some of the post I've been looking at: (sorry for all the tags...hope you don't get too mad...but I needed a sample of what people were asking for).


@quduus is hoping for a gaming laptop...or to travel to Europe. @klvnrex hopes for cellphone or computer @ugomarcel was wishing for a 100" OLED TV.

@nahaji01 was wishing for travel to a peaceful area for quiet vacation.
@les90 also wants to travel to Europe.
@mrenglish wants to travel to escape.
@marynn again get out of the country and see somewhere new.


@lightpen wants to start a business with his wife
....but got into debt getting married so has to work at it.
@eunice9200 wants to start a make-up artist business
@nkemakonam89 wants to start a water business
@sholex94 wants to get a job. So he can afford the other stuff he wants but didn't tell us :)
@nwothini is hoping to start a career as a nurse.


@george-dee wants to become self sufficient, work the land and help those around him.
...A desire I wholeheartedly ascribe to myself.



@protokkol wants a paid off house of his own. A stable place for family.
@graciousvic also wants land of her own.
@adaezeinchrist a house of her own
@vickoly also looking for a house ... or laptop ;)


Now if I keep reading all those dreams I'll never get my own one written down!

However, as you can see there is a theme that is starting to appear.

People want a place to call their own. Just look at all those people who want land.

People want a job to fill their needs. Just look at all those people who want to start a business, or finish their schooling, or have a laptop/cellphone for work

People want to travel for fun and escape. So many people feel trapped in their surroundings that they just want to get away for a while and see somewhere beautiful and quiet.




I am probably one of the oldest Hive Learner members and I started off with nothing. When I was young I scrounged in garbage cans looking for scrap to sell. My wife wasn't much better...she started by waking up early in the morning to sell vegetables door to door before going to school.

We both know about having nothing and working for more.
Now as we are looking at retirement.

We have a nice home. We have rental property. We have a nice vehicle.

I have had a gaming PC (Ryzen 7 with Nvidia 3080) and gaming laptop (Ryzen 5 with AMD 4600). Have a nice 58" TV.

I've even been lucky enough to travel a lot of places in the world. Typically we take a vacation each year.




However, I don't say any of that to brag or look own on anyone else's dream! I say it so you know I've had nothing and now have everything material that I want.

And something you may not know....

.... none if it matters by itself!

  • The cellphone is nothing unless you have someone to call.
  • The house is nothing without friends and family to share it.
  • Income from a job or business is great for money....but without friends and family to share that income with it is empty.
  • Travel is beautiful...but without friends or family to enjoy the experience with it is just intensely lonely
  • A beautiful wedding is nothing unless it is followed by a loving relationship for the rest of your life.

Please, for everyone who reads this and wants more....always remember the point of more is to enjoy it with others! Otherwise no material things will make you happy.




However in the spirit of the Hive Learners topic...what would I like but can't afford?

Might not exactly apply to me because it's not that I can't afford it, its that I can't have it.

I'll give you three vehicles that I'd love to have.

image.png
Source: Youtube

First: A teeny tiny sports car. It's actually inexpensive to buy and inexpensive to operate--plus I've read its really fun to drive. However, you can't buy them in Canada. Can't import them either. So as much fun as it would be to take to the autocross it will have go be on my list for a long time in the future....when they are old enough to be imported here.

image.png
Source

Second:
How about a teeny tiny campervan? Most campervans are huge gas guzzling behemoths! They are impossible to park. Cost a huge amount of money or fuel to go places and really really expensive to maintain.

This little tiny campervan is just big enough to sleep in and go places. However, its good on gas and has enough comfort to enjoy a place when you get there. Also not that expensive for a mini home on wheels. Again, not allowed to import here to Canada.

image.png
Source
Third

This is a really weird looking vehicle.

Guess what. Also not available for sale or import to Canada. No matter how much I want it and can afford it...still can't get it.

Now I like this vehicle because:

  • it's an electric vehicle so very cheap to run.
  • 500km on a charge is awesome.
  • 200km/hr top speed is great.

But the really cool part of the vehicle is that you can recharge the battery by pedaling the vehicle.

Pedal the vehicle???

Yes. It has pedals connected to a generator so you can charge the internal batteries by pedaling while you drive. Because you are pedaling the vehicle it doesn't use a regular steering wheel, it uses a right and left arm lever to drive (I know it as tank steering).

Weird, right?

Sure you can plug it in. However, if I was enjoying nature somewhere far from everything I can just dedicate a bunch of my evening to pedaling the vehicle and recharging the battery.

Why is that awesome.

It has an accessory plug which means I can use the battery power to charge one of these

image.png
Source

In short. I have a laptop, a portable fridge/freezer, an induction cookstove. I bring them along with me in the car wherever I go. I can plug them into the car/power box. In that way I can watch a movie, cool my drinks, heat my food, and go anywhere...just by pedalling my car.

How awesome is that.

Also useful at home if there is a power outage.

Now if I could merge that mini campervan and that weird looking Pedalcar together that would be truly exciting--especially with solar panels on the roof. Ahh.... I can dream.




In the end though, it doesn't matter how much freedom a vehicle like that would give. Without a wife or friend to share the ride with it just isn't worth anything..

Just like life. Enjoy the people you go through life with. Get the material things so you can enjoy your time with those people even more.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Seriously, dreams never end. After one dream have been materialized, we yet dream again.
But the difficulty in actualizing you dream is that one thing that we fight every day.

Not sure I totally agree with that statement. Eventually dreams do end. When my father got older he told me that he accomplished everything he wanted, had all that he needed, and didn't have anything to look forward to. Soon after he developed Cancer then died a while after that.

As I get older I've found that my list of wants grows strangely small. When I'm asked what I want for my birthday or Christmas it is usually just "time with my family".

Wow!!
This is so unusual of humans,, our needs are always insatiable, the reason I said that dreams never ends. But like you said, those experiences teaches more than mere talk.
I have a lot of things on my list I want to be able to accomplish, I sincerely hope to.

One of the benefits of youth and energy !

.... and also a curse if you can't get it done. ;)

Really, it is.

Wowww....I can see the bundle of engagement you did in hive learners community on this topic. I must commend your effort.. well done
As for your dream, those cars looks unique to me unfortunately it cannot be imported to Canada. Hopefully you will achieve other of Ur desires

We all have a thing or two we really hope to own soon.

When I was young I scrounged in garbage cans looking for scrap to sell.

In Canada?

Yes. Sold cans and bottles are worth 5 cents each. My mom was a poor single mother and my father never supported us. Food was never guaranteed. Clothing was usually not new. There were no extras in my house for sure.

Having said that my mom worked VERY hard to do her best for us. There was always love in the house and she was a great role model. I learned a LOT by growing up poor.

However, Yes, even in Canada there are people who have little/nothing. I'm proof of that.

This kind of grass to grace stories are inspirational. It makes one understand the other side of life even if one is in affluence presently. You have seen and conquered.
I particularly asked this question about Canada because with the story I heard while growing up up to this moment, I'd believed that no one lacks the basic in that country.

Everyone in Canada is guaranteed healthcare. There is also social assistance which makes sure that everyone gets about $650/month (370,000 Naira) even if they are unemployed. There are also assistances for housing, food, and more.

However, rents are very expensive. Food is expensive. Cellphones and cellphone plans are expensive.

It is possible to live on the $650 / month minimum but it usually involves moving to a small town and living an exceedingly frugal life.

There are a LOT of jobs available but in many places minimum wage won't cover basic housing.

It is a great country but still has problems

Value of money ... The amount you mentioned is more than twice my salary presently. Canada, I wish to visit that country someday.

I know 😎

I read your post before and added you on Discord ...

Canada can be a great place
.... or a cold lonely place.

If you are coming here make sure to let me know so I can give you some Canada pointers (like best place for groceries, best place for cellphone plan, how to rent apartment and all that good stuff.)

Wow you really did make alot of sense of me. All these things can't be achieved if we don't have people to enjoy them with and that's true.
Your story of how you had nothing and now had these things are big encouragement to me
Thank you very much

I will never say that I had nothing. I had a loving mother and I had the support of teachers and the church. It may not be much but it is far from nothing.

There were times there was no food on the table. Times when I lived in a hotel or with friends because no fixed address.

Hard times for sure, but looking back, I always knew that I was loved and that people cared.

I will Never, Ever, forget that 😉

Having genuine people who care about you really matters. You might have everything in the world but real relationship matters someone you can talk to and share your problems with
Thank you buddy
You're a true inspiration

Someday I'll write a post entitled "I'd rather be inspirational than aspirational". Some people are aspirational....you wish you could be like them because they have so much. Some people are inspirational because they have overcome so much.

If I can do anything for someone I would love to show them that even if you are dealt a crappy hand by life there is still hope. It might be faint to be sure but still :)

Thanks for the kind words. I do appreciate them.

Humans dreams are endless!!! I wonder how you sell vegetables at door just to have some money

This was over 40 years ago in a small village in the Philippines. Different times. My parents in law are farmers..mostly its walking down the street shouting "gulay" and neighbors come out to buy vegetables for the day. Or so it used to be. Again, it wasn't me.

Time really changed, here you are who give this example

You did a great job going through all our posts. Kudos to you. 👍

@sholex94 wants to get a job. So he can afford the other stuff he wants but didn't tell us :)

Don't worry I'll let you know later 😃

Sorry if I tagged too many people. I just wanted to show what people were looking for. I think next time I'll either not at the @ sign or add a link. Will figure out as I go along.

Thanks dropping by for sure.

Can't laugh at your addictions to cars 😀, they have a special place in your heart.
You have just describe how vain our lives and dreams will be if they do not touch the life of others.

If all we can think of while pursuing our dreams is to include another human in it, share life with them and make impact life will be more easier for everyone..

My father once told me: Some people think their car defines who they are and forget they are just a tool to get you where you need to be. I never forgot that.

I just get excited when I think of all the cool things the right vehicle can do. However, I never forget it is just a tool. Which is why I don't mind driving an ugly car when other people would think I'm crazy ;)

I dream to have a mini bus though quite expensive for me now.

Interesting choice. I'm curious though.. why a mini bus?

A mini bus so l can use it to run a transport business.

Haha... Okay. I should have been more specific 🤣

Mini-busses are pretty much only good for transporting people from place to place.

However I was thinking would it be a tour bus for showing tourists interesting places. A shopping bus to take people into town for shopping then carry them all home. A taxi type bus for hire. A bus type bus that goes on a regular route.

So many types of transportation things you can do with a bus or mini-bus.

Speaking of which, in the #Be Frugal Not Stingy next weeks posting topic is going to be about transportation. I'd love to get your thoughts on transportation in your country! (Yes, I know its a shameless plug but sometimes I can't help myself :)

Oh really, that will be great to talk more about it