I woke up with Tones of Home in my head

in #home2 years ago

Fitting, I guess. The theme of home. My home is in the process of changing. For the past six months or so, I've been staying with my dad at his house, which is somewhere I used to live. I'm in the process of moving back into another place I used to live. In 2007, I bought a duplex with my brother and I lived there with my ex-wife for about 7 years before we moved out into a single family home when we got married. Well, when it was decided that our marriage would be ending, I decided to move back into the duplex. I just had to send a letter to tenant that I would not be renewing her lease and then wait until she moved out. She is out now, and I've begun the process of moving in.

It's been going slow because I had to coordinate it with other peoples' schedules, but I plan on staying at my new place by this weekend. After work yesterday, I went and grabbed a car load of boxes and moved more than I thought I'd be able to. Tonight after work, I'm meeting my dad at my former house and we're going to get a trailer of his that I'd been keeping in my garage there. While we've got the trailer, we'll load it up with (hopefully) the remainder of my stuff. We'll also have two vehicles to load up with things. I don't have a lot of stuff. It's mostly boxes. I have minimal furniture. A desk and maybe some shelves, but no couches or chairs or tables.

Anyway, that's where I've been. I've been quiet around here, I know. I'm still working the job I started in January, at a place that makes bottling and canning supplies. I pack up pallets for shipment. It's not complicated or admirable or anything, but it's not bad. I like being on my feet and doing things over sitting at a desk. I'm looking forward to starting my next chapter, back in my duplex by the lake. I'm very grateful that my dad has let me stay at his house, and I've enjoyed the extended visit, but I'm also looking forward to setting up my own home. All on my own this time. It's gonna be a weird home, but that's okay. I'm a weird person. ha.

And with that, I must be off to work. I hope things are going well in your corner of the world.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sharkthelion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @sharkthelion, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really helpful and you could make a difference.
Thank you!