TIME WITH MRS ELIZABETH SACKEY

in #ibreakgh5 years ago

Who is Honourable Elizabeth Sackey?

I am Elizabeth Sackey, was born in Tamale to Elder and Deaconess Quartey in the year 1958. I am the fifth (5th) out of ten (10) children. I am a devoted Christian. I started schooling at Sakasaka Experimental School.  Though I topped my school in common entrance exam three times, I could not continue to secondary school due to financial difficulties at home. After the first attempt, my dad convinced me to attend middle school. I never lost hope because I used to pray to God concerning the problem. Those days, my mum sold waakye and I used to help. I am a waakye expert (laughs). I used to carry the waakye to St. Martin's Preparatory School at Mamprobi. One day, the headmaster of the school, Mr. Quainoo saw me and asked why I was not in school.  I told him I had passed my common entrance exams but could not be in school because of financial problem. He then asked of the amount for the fees, which I told him was GHC1.08 (Laughs). Yes, I know you would have been able to pay but that was the crisis of the day. I still have that receipt. I kept saying “God bless you” when I was taking the cheque. I rushed to Accra Girls to pay my fees the following day. I had written at the back of my book that “God is able” and believed that I would overcome any challenge. I did my first degree at the University of Ghana. I am a former MP for the Okaikoi North and currently the Deputy Greater Accra Regional Minister.



What was your future ambition while growing up?
To be a banker. I loved how the tellers counted money in the bank. Counting money gave me great joy (Laughs). Unfortunately, after school I could not work at the bank. I initially worked at the Rural Development Ministry. I was made to work at the Accounting Department as a cashier, “The joy of counting money in style (Laughs)”.  I got married not long after. I used to pass through my husband’s workplace after work for us to go home together. One of such visits, as I was moving up the stairs, I met an elderly woman moving down the stairs. I had then climbed 3 stairs but immediately I saw her, I moved down to pave way for her to move down out of respect. I learnt that in civic education. I took the course so serious because I always wanted to be a good citizen and not just a passive or bad citizen. The woman was impressed by the act, approached me and we had a chat. She asked me where I worked, which I told her. She went further to ask if I would love to work at the bank. I told her about the numerous times I had applied and got no response from the bank. The following day, she told my husband to tell me to reapply to the bank. Unknowingly to me, she was the HR of a bank. I just showed courtesy to an elderly woman and that landed me in my dream job. I was posted to the Korle-Bu branch of the bank. I was then introduced to my new department and within an hour of watching them work, I was able learn how to use their software. They were surprised how I was able to pick up so fast since I was a novice to computers. They asked how I was able to do that and I told them, “It is the Holy Spirit” (smiles). I have a motto that, “whatever you do, do it as unto the Lord not as unto man”. This motto makes me work honestly and with zeal.


 What was your high school experience like?

I read Business in Accra High School. I loved sports in high school and even used to run short and long distances. I was always on top in this sport.


You are an economist and banker and have a certificate in marketing. What informed your decision to be in this male dominated field?

I went into this field because as a big sister, I had to take care of my siblings. I wanted my siblings (both brothers and sisters) to know that they can be whatever they set their eyes on. I did not want my sisters to limit themselves to just “the kitchen”. I used to be the best in my class right from the primary school, and this caused the males to fight me (Laughs). They would meet me and beat me after class (Laughs) and I would tell them, “Even if you beat me, I will succeed” (Laughs). I recently met one of them and made fun of the old days (Laughs). Words have power, so be careful with your words. Whatever you say, make sure you work towards it. My mum used to tell me to be mindful of whatever I said. I remember when I used to work at GCB (Ghana Commercial Bank), there was a time that people were saying “ɛte sɛn (How are you)?” and they would reply,” Ohiani gbuburagbubra (This rough poor life)” (Laughs). I used to tell them, you could not say this about yourself. You have to keep telling yourself you can make it in life. Joyce Aryee was my role model.



Did you play any leadership role?

I have been a Sunday school teacher of my church. I was among the first group to become Regional Executive for the Church of Pentecost at a tender age. Those days they used to call me “National Service Person” (Laughs) and I used to like it because that is what I desired.  I became the Regional Financial Secretary for the Sunday school, Regional Women’s Commissioner at Church. I availed myself for God to use me. My faith increased more in Christ after becoming a politician. God answers any time I pray. This made me closer to Him. I can testify God is closer than your clothing. I went into politics to transform the dynamics of politics and to impact the lives of people.  Successful female politicians like Hawa Yakubu, Theresa Theo, Christine Tetteh and others, inspired me. I was the MP for Okaikoi North and currently the Greater Accra Regional Minister.


You made a statement that God always answers your prayer, what makes you different from other Christians?

I am not so different (Laughs). I believe every Christian can build him or herself by studying the word of God. The word of God contains everything in life. Do not pray amiss. Pray and refer God to His own word. If the enemy sees you know the word and right in God, it will be very difficult for him to get closer to you. The more you read the word of God, the more you make the word practical in your life and the more you get closer to God.

How have friends influenced you climbing up the ladder?

I had friends that I had to leave behind. I had friends that influenced me both positively and negatively. I always say, “It is up to you to access whatever someone says about you”. You can get a positive understanding about whatever friends tell you by reading the scripture. The scripture says, “The Lord will order your steps”. During one of our electoral primaries, a friend approached me and told me he knows I am very God-fearing but with elections, you need to blend black magic and God in order to win. He was telling me the processes they go through and how they recite an incantation repeatedly. I thought to myself, if a man goes through this to get power then why can’t I learn the scriptures and pray to God? I told him I didn’t believe in it and that my God is able to do exceeding abundantly above what we ask or think, according to the power that works in us. I threw a challenge that I was going to win the primaries. I won the election and called him to tell him. I heard him sobbing, apparently, he lost the elections. You need to let the Holy Spirit guide you in the type of advice to pick from friends.

How have you been able to stay on top of everything?

The Lord has been faithful to me. From my education to my current political career, I would say it’s grace. I don’t leave God out of my life during decision making. Before I do something, I first pray about it and if I don’t have a good feeling about it, I don’t go in for it. I am a strong-willed person. I always believe there is nothing that if I call on the Lord, He cannot do.  No matter what happens to you, tell your soul, “it is well”. I make a difference using my position. Even when I am not able to solve people’s problems, they leave here saying, “My heart is at peace”. I give glory to God for that.


Why did you go into politics?

I did politics because I wanted to change the view about politics. I always prayed to God to always lead me to where it was appropriate so I could affect lives. My children used to tell me I would be a good inspirational speaker because the way I talked motivated them. I took that into consideration and wanted a platform to reach people from different tribal, religious and other backgrounds. I started a youth club in my community, and we had a motto, “Don’t give up”. They were impressed about how the youth had been affected positively. I used that opportunity to win the hearts of the adults. We organised another group called The Landlord’s Association. They endorsed me and suggested I should be the assemblywoman. I declined the offer at first because I used to work at the bank. My husband told me not to disappoint them. Before I could go get the forms, they had organized themselves to get the forms, endorsed it and asked me to sign. I am always happy if I see the joy on the faces I am able to help. I know God brought me here for a reason.

Being in the male-dominated sector, how are you able to work?

TO BE CONTINUED..................

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Resteemed.Sounds great to have people like you to the Ghanaian team. Greater milestones are yet to be achieved. Let us keep it hot on the blockchain @arnan.

You are most welcome to the future of our generation,steemit. Help share the love with many others and share those incredible ideas to help bring values to the community. Thanks for sharing @arnan

Congratulations @arnan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @arnan! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @arnan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @arnan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!