You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Japanese Language Chat Forum ~ 日本語チャットフォーラム 〜 日

in #japaneselast year

A useful expression to know that uses today’s kanji is 毎日 (まいにち) [mainichi], which means every day.

Another interesting one that gets used in schools a lot is 日直 (にっちょく) [nicchyoku] which is a duty or a role that a person has.

In schools, there are usually two students who have this role in every class, and those two students often change in a daily basis. They are expected to do things like lead the class in greeting the teacher, announcing the beginning and ending of each class, leading the class in saying an expression of thanks before and after lunch, having certain cleaning duties, etc.

Sort:  

Kind of like the “prime” you might say, which seems to get used more and more around here as of late, at least in a work environment.

And yes, 毎日 is often used, a word I use a lot myself.

日直と言う単語が初めて聞いた

Nicchyoku to iu tango ga hajimete kiita!

This is the first time I’ve heard of this word!

そうですねー。

よく考えると日直が、学校以外にはあんまり使われてないと思います。

プライムってなんですか?どういうふうに使われていますか?

例えば、誰かが担当する事に似て責任者する事の感じと思います。彼女は着信の担当して彼は発信の担当して。

Tatoeba, dareka ga tantou suru koto ni nite sekininsha suru koto no kanji to omoi masu. Kanojo wa chakushin no tantou shite kare wa hasshin no tantou shite.

For example, the person in-charge or the responsible person is how I would explain it. “She is the prime for the incoming calls, he is the prime for the outgoing calls…”

その英語初めて聴きました。

面白いね。

「今日はあなたが着信のプライムだよ」と言われたら全然意味が僕につうじません。

I noticed you are using 聴きました instead of 聞きました. どちでも正しいですか?

To be honest, I don’t really know. At the time, that one just felt like a good choice, but according to this forum, it seems like my usage is incorrect and I should have chosen 聞く.

I generally need a moment like this to take the extra step and answer questions that I too have.

https://japanese.stackexchange.com/questions/11459/when-to-use-%E8%81%B4%E3%81%8F-vs-%E8%81%9E%E3%81%8F-vs-%E8%A8%8A%E3%81%8F

Very interesting. Kanji nuances! I learned something today, never knew there were two similar kanji’s for kiku. By the way, don't feel like you need to upvote my comments in this thread.