You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Japanese Language Chat Forum ~ 日本語チャットフォーラム 〜 日

in #japaneselast year

Hmmmm, the question can be moved to the post I suppose. Or I make a community. What I came up with today was inspired by your suggestions. I’m starting at kanji #1. Going back to the beginning is quite interesting for me actually. I literally wiped the dust off my basic kanji book from eons ago!

Sort:  

Nice. I’ll follow along. I kept up with my son for two years after he started school and meant to keep going but fell out of the habit. Now he’s in 5th grade and I can’t remember how to write most of the kanji on my own. Reading it is one thing, but actually mastering the writing is hard.

There some really good iPad kanji apps useable with the "Apple Pencil" too, as you probably know.

Actually, I haven’t looked into that. Recently, I’ve been studying French using DuoLingo.

Part of me feels like I should level up my Japanese, but since I haven’t really found study materials that I can use easily and that focus on areas that would be useful to me (the DuoLingo for Japanese doesn’t go very far), I thought I’d learn French instead.

Chances of me going there again are pretty high, and the last time I was there I couldn’t communicate at all, so I want to prepare myself for the next time that I travel there.

I think you will find French one of the easier languages to learn. Quite a few bilingual people up here, especially in eastern Canada.

I think I’ve made a lot of progress with it in less than a year and for only studying 15 minutes a day or so, but the funny thing is that my brain sort of treats French and Japanese as the same language, so if I come across a word that I don’t know or get into an area where I haven’t kea Ned how to say something yet, my brain fills in the spaces with Japanese words and tries to force the reversed Japanese syntax on the French.

Je veux manger de la via de pour diner.

Becomes something like …

Pour diner, de la viande veux manger.

I think it’s just a lack of drilling. At this point, when I’m making sentences, I have to think of every detail and string them together, in that moment, my Japanese brain reflexively takes over.

Looks like I’m messing up the system here by voting on your comments. Guess maybe I should stop doing that so that the original comment stays pinned to the top.

I guess I will just put the questions in the post from now on. Problem solved.

And then everyone’s happy. Hopefully. 😉

And then everyone’s happy. Hopefully. 😉