You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Japanese Language Chat Forum ~ 日本語チャットフォーラム 〜 日

in #japaneselast year

Glad I'm not the only one who gets these two confused sometimes. I always take a few extra seconds to make sure I have it right before reading it outloud.

haha I can relate to both of your experiences. It's so easy to get confused once you become lost in a conversation. I still have that problem at times. It makes for some funny stories (albeit embarrassing at the time)

Sort:  

I had this thought the other day: if we could experience our lives as 4th dimensional beings (able to experience all of time at once), we might not ever get angry or sad or frustrated or embarrassed in these situations because while they are happening, we’ll also be able to see the future and know how funny they will be to us some day.

This thought was inspired by a Valentine’s Day fight with the Mrs. 😉

A little like the Tralfamadorians in Slaughterhouse 5, eh?

Exactly. I finally read that book for the first time a year or two ago. I really enjoyed it.

Every time I reread it, I fall in love with it a little more. It is on the way to becoming my favorite book. Biting satire, yet hopeful, oddly beautiful at times (the "watching the war backwards" part), funny, and philosophical. Such a great book.

I don’t know how I never read it as a kid. I can remember seeing the cover of it here and there, and hearing the name of course, but I always just wondered, what is that book.

Honestly, I think it’s probably better that I didn’t read before becoming an adult. It seems like one of those books that will make more sense the older one gets.