Collection Highlights - "The Captain" Elemental Privateer Series #3

in #leolast month

Collection (20).jpg

Collection Highlights "The Captain" Elemental Privateer Series #3-

I had to dig deep into the treasure chest to find something to share. I honestly picked up a couple of rounds but felt like I may be already shared them as I have multiples of some of the vintage stuff. I couldn't find anything compelling in the collection that I inherited, or that I wanted to take photos of so I just kind of put that back away and I dug around until I found something nice and chunky.

This is the first of the privateers that I came across and I decided it was a good one to show. Well it is not the first in a series The classic OG, I'll get to that one later down the road this one is still a good one.

I absolutely loved at the privateer series when they first started. As a series continued on I started to become a little disenfranchised as the premium seem to go up and up for every new design and I started to feel like I was being milked just for wanting to complete a collection. This is when I started to really struggle with the idea of numismatic premium for collecting bullion. I started to go back to buying generic, or vintage at generic prices versus buying premium rounds when they first came out in whatever series they started to release..

Taking a look at some of the facts of this unique 2 oz I believe round. This was the third release in the privateer series featuring the captain digging his gold on a nice remote island. It was one of 66,839 made and it has a 40 mm diameter and has two troy ounces of silver. Each one of these has the same reverse design of a skull on a ship wheels and chains or ropes.
The Captain" Elemental Privateer Series #3

6VvuHGsoU2QCK6yq1XKF2z9F8sayRpwConx4qLB6jE9hzGT9Tv7Ty4L49JPMX8izzZCZLGYKt6kP2ErCVE4wdZg97xWnZ9YmqPdyHeMFZHoFpjHTo42W4SNEL4D6q3.gif

Obverse

image.png
It's great looking coin. As much as I like to complain about the cost they really did some nice work with engravings. Seeing that swashbuckling captain digging a hole to store his treasure in for a later date is everything that gold and silversteckers like. He looks like he's rugged loaded for a fight, it smells because he's been out at sea for months. I would love to find his treasure so I can live a life a bit more of luxury.

Reverse

image.png


They all had the same reverse. It is a nice looking skull, ships wheel with some ropes interlaced. It also features the slogan no prey no pay. It brings back the imagery of how many people died while out at Sea and in Hunt for The elusive treasure or the fast dollar. Being a pirate certainly not a life of luxury, and probably not a life of longevity. We certainly romanticize it now, but I'm sure it was a very harsh and hard lifestyle.

I'll work on getting the rest of them out, I don't think I actually completed the collection but I know I have a couple more..

image.png

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

That's a great looking round! How much did that cost?

!BBH

@senstless! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (3/20)

No idea at the time. I used to track it all on a spreadsheet, thinking I would flip stuff to buy more, but I always hated selling. When they started the premiums over spot were not terrible but they got worse as the series went on. !PIZZA

It sounds like the series saw a lot of success and then they started trying to cash in on that success by raising prices. That's a bummer.

!BBH

@senstless! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (9/20)

I love those 2 oz rounds, @senstless .
We used to wait for the next edition of the series!
!LOL

Why doesn’t Dracula have any friends?
Well……I hear he is a pain in the neck.

Credit: reddit
@senstless, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of silversaver888

(3/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Me too, they were the best. By the end I was burned out of the hype and the excessive premiums they wanted but I still think about finishing them sometimes. !PIZZA

People tend to forget where all that Treasure came from... I'm now convinced I found a very rich deposit of Copper, Silver, Gold and who knows what else... There could be platinum metals in the mix... So far, very few people seem interested...

I have watched enough mining shows to know its crazy expensive to try to move enough earth to get those precious metals. I hope you can find a partner to help fund and extract it all! !PIZZA

The job is too much for me... My goal is to Stake the Claim, before revealing its location...

That is awesome! I love the details, such a well done round. Great buy!
!BBH

@senstless! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (3/50)

I think these were some of the best round produced back then. They were the first splash into premium rounds and the chunky 2oz was an immediate hit with everyone. It feels so much better than a 1ozer. !PIZZA

It's why I have a WiFi and a Hot tub in the blueprints of my Frigate.

It must be serious if you already have blue prints for your personal Frigate - I only have the blue prints to my log raft! !PIZZA

Well silverd510 thought this was a bit much for a custom built treasure chest that is only 135 ft long, 30ft beam, 32ft draft, 22 Cannons, and three masted with a pirate flag. ☠️
!BBH

@senstless! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kerrislravenhill. (2/5)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
senstless tipped silversaver888
@senstless(5/10) tipped @pocketechange
senstless tipped kerrislravenhill
senstless tipped bulliontools
senstless tipped thebighigg