Top notch with some Glocks

in #life4 years ago (edited)

IMG_6753.jpg

Howdy Hive,

Figured I'd post today about a new (to me) hobby I picked up this year. I'm gonna make this one short, and sweet.

My father was a hunter, and I grew up around firearms. Things were different back in the early 1980's, there was a large wood & glass display case filled with shotguns off our kitchen, and I remember him cleaning his weapons often in front of the family. Despite his interest in the hobby, at the time, I could have cared less. I never asked to join on a hunt, and had never shot any of his weapons while growing up.

Fast forward to June of 2020. I'm sitting at home watching the country explode into violent protests. Despite living in a space that is not immediately being threatened by these events, I - like many other citizens - realized that some method of 'self defense' may be needed.

Within the next 3 months I had purchased 3 pistols, a gun range membership, and had shot about 2,000 rounds. I fell face first into the hobby. It feels as if I've been genetically poised to do so, and despite his passing in 2003, makes me feel close to my father while doing so.

I think I'll write about this more in the future, but there were a lot personal changes that occurred when I entered this hobby. I conceal carry every day, and that small act has given me a new view of the fragility of life, and how important it is to just stay focused and calm when interacting with the world around you. People don't anger me in traffic when driving any more. I'm not interested into getting in a gun fight, so when I'm carrying, I'm gonna do everything in my power to NOT use that firearm. The best phrase I've heard that explains this notion is "Just because you're carrying, doesn't mean you've been deputized".

So anyways, in an attempt to prevent some unfiltered rambling, lets just close up the post with an introduction to my Austrian friends.

From Top to Bottom:
-Glock 17 (gen 3 pistol, full-sized duty weapon used by most LEO in US, double-stack 9mm, 17+1)
-Glock 19 (gen 5 pistol, consumer version of unit designed for U.S. FBI, double-stack compact 9mm, cool weather edc, 15+1)
-Glock 43 (technically a gen 4, single-stack sub-compact 9mm, warm weather edc, 6+1)

IMG_5989.jpg

I've added a light to the 19.5, and have plans for future upgrades (night sights, tungsten recoil springs, etc.) but I'm very happy with the crew currently reporting for duty. Its crazy how fast carrying a pistol became just another 'phone, keys, wallet' accessory, in that I feel very strange now, without it.

image0b.jpg

Anyways - as mentioned I may go back and do a more detailed post about 'What firearm ownership means to me' sometime, today, its more of a picture post.

Happy Glocktober!

~GG

Sort:  

Nice! Have you been finding ammo ok? Thinking about expanding your gun ownership beyond handguns? AR pistols are pretty sweet.

There's a gun community on Hive that could use more people posting there. Check it out: https://peakd.com/c/hive-139358/created I'm sure they wouldn't mind a cross-post.

Hey man! Ammo is hard to find, and very expensive. I know of one location locally that isn't limiting purchase to just one box per person. I've gotten lucky twice and walked into a few cases of 9mm brass, which has kept me shooting on the regular. I can tell this is a hobby that isn't going to end with the current purchases I've made, and yes, I've been looking at and speaking with friends about AR pistol options. I shot my buddy's the other day and it was a very enjoyable experience. I'll definitely check out the community link you shared. Thanks for that and nice to chat with ya again!