I managed to do more things! ... and survived.

in #life7 months ago

I got a little excited last Sunday on the basis I woke up early and fancied a run. Now, that doesn't happen often and I don't think had happened in a year or more. I mean I'd neither woke up wanting to run nor had I bean out running.

A week on and I'm quite chuffed to report that it wasn't a one off and I've managed to get off my backside a few more times this week. Not only have I managed another two Couch to 5k runs, but also went for a swim.

I was up and out early on Tuesday morning and being pitch black meant I had to keep to the footpaths as opposed to running around the local park. It was pre-storm weather though, a bit chilly but still and dry. Getting motivated was a challenge so I just tried to forget what I was about to do, whacked my running gear on and aimed for the front door.

IMG_1804.jpeg

I've been wanting to swim again for quite a while. I tend to pop out during my lunch break as that's the easiest option in terms of working around parental duties and the pool not being used by clubs. Work commitments has made that difficult recently. I fancied going for longer but it seems some parts of the UK had a late half term. Although I managed to get a swimming lane, the pool was packed with screaming kids. It wasn't particularly relaxing!

IMG_1800.jpeg

Finally I went out again this morning and tried a different route. This was more of a challenge for me as I live on top of a hill and therefor straying too far means tackling some inclines. That was the case today! The first half was of course OK but I struggled during the second. Apparently I burned an extra 168 calories vs Tuesday (368 cals) which would suggest I had to work harder. I do wonder how accurate these things are though!

IMG_1802.jpeg

I've also been aiming to make other improvements. I've been drinking much less to probably a 5th of the consumption a from a few months ago. I've swapped my weekend bacon sandwich for a vegan plant based alternative and am taking on far more water than before. I've my annual blood check on Wednesday of this week so it will be good to have a fresh baseline for the coming year. I've left it too late to see any difference vs the last one.

Sort:  

Good effort... and as Steevc says the hardest part is often getting out the door. I find having a routine helps with that. I also have my kit/shoes on the side so that whether I run first thing in the morning, or after I finish work, I can get changed quickly and get outside before my brain thinks up an excuse not to go out.

I've also been aiming to make other improvements

I also find that regular exercise makes it more likely to make other healthy lifestyle choices. I try harder to get better sleep, and I find it easier to manage what I eat too.

Well done! The hardest part of running is getting out the door. It can be tough at this time of year. Did you get much of the latest storm? It was just wet here.

I don't pay too much attention to the calorie numbers in the apps, but I guess they give some idea of how we are doing. I think I burnt a few today.

!BEER


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.