Hello Hive World....this is me

in #life2 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to the first day of the rest of our lives….happy new year!!

img_20220101_wa0003.jpg

Hi there, I thought I’d do my introductory post on new years day – I’m a big one for symbolism 😊

GOLLY! I just wanted to say thank you for the warm welcome I’ve already received and also a big thank you to my friends @pricessmewmew and @morkrock for introducing me to this amazing community and you fine people! Imagine my surprise (technogeek that I am) on hearing that there is a whole social commerce, unlike any other, right under my nose.
_________________________🖤 __________________________

My name is Derryn and I’m from all over my fair South Africa, I settled in Cape Town in 2010, after being in the petrochemical engineering industry for 12 years, and two international moves – I find myself with this guy, fellow foodie and chef – my chosen partner in life.

img_20211211_172729.jpg

We’ve been kicking about, sharing our love of food, people and music for 4 years and this is our son – Jackson. My reason and my light.

img_20211214_wa0062.jpg

img_20211222_wa0041.jpg

Yes sir, we are raising our very own little punk!! Always ready with a smile, a gentle soul and already a lover of the ocean and nature….although he doesn’t yet appear to share our love of the culinary persuasion 🤭
_________________________🖤 __________________________
I hope to share with you, in time to come, my insights on books, food, Cape Town and music 😃

I have been lucky enough to travel the world extensively in my 34 years and it has taken leaving and coming home to really appreciate the beauty that is Cape Town, not just our incredible landscapes but the restaurateurs., tattooists, musicians (basically the people) and the many cultures we have here.

img_20211231_wa0006.jpg

In closing, it's good to be here and if anyone has any pointers on how best to navigate this space and what communities I should join, any advice at all - I'd be grateful for it - and I wish you all an abundant 2022, filled with love and light and laughter. Lets hope that this year brings the beginning of a global healing after two years of socioeconomic calamity.
_________________________🖤 __________________________

Sort:  

yay! this is amazing, I am sure you are going to do well!

My top tips are CONSISTENCY and ENGAGEMENT!!

Thank you, all over it! 🌈🪁❤️

Welcome to HIVE.
hiver-tinyji.gif

Thank you so much 🌈🪁❤️☀️🍃

Welcome to Hive
I to travelled a lot over the years it is great to make one appreciate the place we came from even

I know right?! It took me leaving and returning twice! Is Massachusetts home for you now?

Yes I have been to over 60 countries in my travels

Was working based in NYC for last 15 years till I retired in 2020 and moved here to Massachusetts

That's incredible! 60 countries... Wow. I aim to try and visit as many countries and experience as many cultures as possible although my heart belongs to Switzerland. I lived there for two years.
I've always wanted to go to Boston.... One day 😊

Switzerland is such a beautiful country I can see why it is special in your heart

Travel sure broadens one’s horizons without a doubt I have been fortunate to see the good and the bad in my travels

Good luck to you seeing more of the world

Congratulations @trollsmcduff! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome to hive

Thank you! I'm so excited to be here.

Hi Derryn, welcome to Hive!!

Thank you! I'm so excited to be here.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Fantastic! Wow, I will do.

Congratulations @trollsmcduff! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome to HIVE!
!PIZZA
untitled.gif

Why thank you :) that's so crazy, I'm actually getting an Alice In Wonderland tattoo next week! Nice to meet ya

I see you are very new here on Hive. I'm pretty sure you will like it. For communities I would say since you said you like food, go with the food community and share your recipes. I would like to see some south african food which I could try to cook then.

I am very very new, thanks I appreciate the tip 👊

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@chaosmagic23(7/10) tipped @trollsmcduff (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!