Pirate’s Loot

in #lifestyle17 days ago

IMG_8015.jpeg

While I was in the countryside for Mother’s Day, I took the opportunity to dig for treasures. I was under the impression that most if not all antiques that were not inside the house were already taken by someone so it was a pleasant surprise to find some nice things.

I originally climbed up to the second level of the shed to close one of the doors wind had blown open and took a peak inside while at it. I found three beautiful chairs that were buried under a pile of rubble. One was completely in two pieces and the other two pretty beat up. I figured I might be able to use the one for spare parts and after a complete re-upholstery have two beautiful chairs. Sadly I had to leave the chairs waiting because my car was full.

IMG_8017.jpeg

I looked into another storage room and found more treasures, the big item being this stunning little table. It was under big heavy wooden boxes, some full of old school books and magazines. The table looks almost perfect from afar but after being under a heavy load, it’s leaning to one side and the joints are very loose. This has to be carefully taken apart and figure out how to make the joints fit snug again.

IMG_8016.jpeg

The third treasure here is understated but very valuable to me. I found a dusty, mouse poop and dead insect ridden box of old brass curtain thingies. In another pile was a variety of curtain rods. I had to take them all, clean and inspect to see the full potential.

IMG_8021.jpeg

IMG_8024.jpeg

I spend one evening washing the curtain thing to better see what I have. There are different sizes and sets in various stages of patina. Most were made of pretty thin brass, possible laquered, and many beyond repair, but there is definitely potential after I sort and polish them.

IMG_8029.jpeg

IMG_8030.jpeg

After I hauled my loot back to home and stopped by at a hardware store to buy polish, it was time to get scrubbing. I’ve now spend three evenings after work scrubbing these brass pieces and I still have most of the curtain loops and little thingies to polish. It looks like I’ll be able to make at least two curtain hanging sets from these without buying any parts.

IMG_8053.jpeg

IMG_8060.jpeg

So satisfying to see the change!

IMG_8059.jpeg

Shiny things, magpie happy!

Sort:  

Oh cool, treasure hunt :)

Old treasures are the best!

After you polish the brass pieces, they became so beautiful, those are real treasures.

A little bit of work will make those beautiful again and give them a new life!

Probably why these treasures were still available was exactly because they require some work to be beautiful and useful again 😅

Oh my goodness, thanks so much for sharing this, I've heard and watched pirates in movies a lone but have never seen Something this real about them.. wow some lovely pics😍😍😍

You really DID find some treasures !

I am pretty good at finding the ”gold” within loads of trash :)

aye, shiny! good loot!

I know right!

was this a random house?

Lol no! My homehome aka my parents house :)

ah..!
i was thinking to myself "what a great place, where people abandon houses full of cool stuff to renovate"