Thoughts as my first week of work comes to a close

in #meditations2 years ago

image.png

Spending some time writing in the morning is healthy, even if it's just a way to think about the day ahead and the day behind me. Today is the last day of my first week at a new job. My morning routine starts pretty early, so I have a bit of time to do what I want before leaving for work. It might be beneficial to do some writing instead of reading Twitter nonsense and allowing it to affect my mood.

In all honesty, I wasn't sure whether I would keep my new job at the beginning of the week. It is a position working in a warehouse for a small, growing company that sells stainless-steel fittings, valves, and tubes. Although I have skills that far exceed what would be needed for this job, I also like to stay active while I'm working. Sitting behind a desk is not really for me. I've worked jobs like that before.

This new job didn't seem to be challenging or busy enough for me to be happy. I was convinced that I would work out the week before telling the staffing agency that the job was not a proper fit for me and that I would not be returning. After spending some time there, I can see some potential, so I'll stay a little longer before making any decisions.

The company is seeking a warehouse supervisor to replace the current supervisor when he relocates to a new facility in the southeast. Because I have experience as a supervisor from past jobs, I am already showing him how to do some things. Over the last twenty years or so, I've worked at a variety of jobs, which might look sketchy on a resume, but also means I have a variety of skills.

I'll be teaching people how to work on the computer at this job, and that's obvious. Standing back and watching them stumble around the computer is difficult for me, but I keep that to myself. There is something funny about having someone supposedly teach me how to use a program, but then I show them things they didn't even know about it. Work smarter, not harder... right?

It's beneficial to make lists of pros and cons when you're unsure about something, and I've been doing that in my head this week. That's what I'm doing right now, as I put it into words. The pros are that the job is with a small company that is growing very quickly. There is a lot of room for advancement. They're even opening a location in Texas someday, and in the back of my mind, I think about how I might want to move back there someday.

However, for now, it's close to where I'll likely live come spring. That's a plus. The other warehouse workers seem unqualified for the supervisor position, so I am confident I can get it without any difficulty. They're all nice guys, and I enjoy working with them, so I'm not talking trash. They don't possess the same types of skills and they don't possess the same amount of experience as me. Nevertheless, if I like working with the people I work with, that's a pro.

My skills with databases and app development can help implement useful changes to the company's warehouse since they are still figuring out how to run it. It is my intention to offer some ideas on that topic to the owners of the company, so hopefully they'll pay attention. Even if things seem slow and boring sometimes, there's plenty of room for growth, and I think that's why I should stick it out. It's slow because of the holidays, I guess. After Thanksgiving, orders begin to slow down until the new year. They should pick up again after the new year.

“Never let the future disturb you. You will meet it, if you have to, with the same weapons of reason which today arm you against the present.”
― Marcus Aurelius

Sort:  

Every day is a new day and every day is new learning...you never know when you get some thing to learn while teaching them in ware house...there might be different aspect of same things and you might find something new ..

For sure! I appreciate being able to learn new skills. I can use them at work and in life.

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@sharkthelion(1/14) tipped @steemflow (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.