Memoir Monday - Week 7 (4/22 to 4/28)

in #memoirmonday21 days ago (edited)

MM7.jpg

Memoir

/ˈmemˌwär/ noun. a record of events written by a person having intimate knowledge of them and based on personal observation. Usually memoirs. an account of one's personal life and experiences; autobiography. the published record of the proceedings of a group or organization, as of a learned society.


Week seven is upon us! Memoir Monday has become the most rewarding thing I’ve done thus far on the blockchain and I thank you all for your participation.

For all of those who’ve regularly participated in Memoir Monday - keep going, you’re making great progress in crafting your very own life story for future generations to enjoy. Writing a memoir is an amazing accomplishment that few people will ever undertake. I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed reading the entries from all across the globe. Take a moment this week to look back and celebrate what we’ve achieved together so far.

For those who missed the inaugural post explaining what the Memoir Monday initiative is all about you can find it here.


This week’s Memoir Monday question:

What's the first major news story you can remember living through as a child?


My answer:


I was born in 1971 so, aside from a few vague memories of nightly news stories of the Vietnam war and the oil crisis/gasoline shortages of the time, I was unaware of what was going on in the world at large.

The first major news story that I remember directly impacting me was on August 16, 1977 with the death of Elvis Presley. I had just turned six years old a few months before, my brother was just two.

Sears.jpg

Many childhood memories were made in this mall.


My mom, dad, brother and I were at the Sears store at Eastland Mall in Columbus, Ohio when story came across the television sets displayed in the Sears electronics department.

Elvis was such a beloved cultural icon at that time everyone was frozen where they stood, there was a collective gasp and lots of tears. On the drive home I remember my parents talking about their memories of Elvis at that point he was famous for more than half of their lives. The shock and grief of everyone for weeks afterwards was palpable, even to me at such a young age. Now, I understand that many people probably felt a part of their youth evaporate that day.

45s.jpg


I was familiar with Elvis because he was already a part of my life at six years of age. He had been attempting a career comeback and was on television a lot. My parents also had an enormous cabinet stereo, a relic from the 1960’s, full of old vinyl albums and 45s from their younger days. I remember being more familiar with the younger Elvis than the older version of him in the big sunglasses and sequined jumpsuits (the 1970’s were a strange time).

Stereo.jpg

Yes, it looked cool but your phone probably sounds better than one of these did.


We’d listen to these records a lot when my brother and I were younger. I can remember Elvis’ music being in a different league than many of the other records they owned. His music had a way of triggering your adrenaline and just making you want to move, it’s easy to understand why he was so popular. His public persona was carefully crafted and there was a reason his nickname was “The King of Rock & Roll”. It seems like most women wanted to date him, and most guys wanted to be him.

With the exception of Michael Jackson (and possibly Prince and George Michael), I can’t think of many other celebrity deaths that have had such an profound impact on modern society in my lifetime. The unexpected death of Anthony Bourdain had a similar effect on me, personally, but this was just a blip in the global 24hr news cycle in comparison.

It’s a little strange to think of how a small handful of public figures got so wildly famous back then. In many ways it was a simpler, more innocent time. Famous people were put on a pedestal and worshiped to some extent.

Today’s world is vastly different, I can’t really think of any single entertainer who’s so widely admired, Taylor Swift is probably the closest I can think of. The entertainment industry and public interests in general are much more segmented into silos or genres now. I feel like there are fewer artists who are capturing the attention of the entire world in the way these icons once did. I think the public is a tad more sophisticated (or is it jaded?) now as well and don’t worship entertainers as much.

It sure was a different world back then, but was it better one? My answer to that question is in some ways yes, and in some ways no. When looking back across the decades we humans have a way of remembering the past to be better than it really was. Everything else aside, I'm very thankful I grew up when I did.


Rules for Memoir Monday Participation

  1. Please reblog this first post and share on other social platforms so we cast the widest net possible for this initiative;
  2. Pictures paint a thousand words. Include pictures in your posts if you have them;
  3. Answer each Memoir Monday prompt question in your own post. The prompt question will be published each Monday but you'll have the entire week to answer and publish your own post;
  4. Have fun with it, don't worry about getting behind, or jumping into the project at any point after we've begun; and
  5. Lastly, be sure to include the tag #memoirmonday.

It's that simple.

At the end of the next twelve months we'll have created something immensely valuable together. It's so important to know our "whys" in life and there's no better way to do that than this.

Someday all that will be left of our existence are memories of us, our deeds, and words. It's up to you to leave as rich of a heritage as possible for future generations to learn from. So, go ahead, tell your stories. I can't wait to read them.

Be well and make the most of this day. I want to sincerely thank all of the participants thus far. I've really enjoyed reading your posts!

~Eric Vance Walton~


Growing weary of the ads and divisiveness on mainstream social media? If so, why not try Hive? Click on this link to sign-up and join our growing global community.

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

Wow! I went through my memory bank as I was reading this. I also remember Elvis dying. I was a tad older than you at the time. I remember one of my teachers wearing black. For a week! Two "celebrity" deaths that will live with me: Princess Diana and less than a week later, Mother Theresa. The latter for much more personal reasons which I've mentioned here...

I've got one for you...I think...yes...here.

There are so many that had profound impact but Elvis was the first major news story I could remember that had such a visceral effect on me. Thank you for the link! I'll check that out.

I think it was Comet Shoemaker–Levy 9. When I heard it at first , I thought it would collide with the Earth, but Jupiter saved us 😄

I remember all of the hype about that!

I remember the first time I saw Forrest Gump I wondered how a person could live, indirectly, through many historical events in childhood and adolescence. Those of us born in the 1970s have lived through everything, even a pandemic and hopefully not the possibility of World War 3. As I read, I think back and I don't remember a very significant event. I think I'm going to have to go through my memory chest to participate this week. A great Friday, my friend. Hugs

You're right, we've lived through so much change! I'm thankful to have been born before technology took over the world. I'd be interested to hear the first one you can remember. The Space Shuttle disaster would be a close second for me but I was already 15 years old at that point. Thank you, Nancy! I hope you have a great one as well. : )

I think the first one I can really remember is probably the Challenger blowing up. I feel like there should be other ones before that though.

That was a weird day, for sure! I was a freshman in HS. Were you around for the blizzard of '78? Our power was out for four days but, thankfully, my parents had an old coal conversion gas furnace without a blower so we were one of the few who had heat. That was impactful too but Elvis's death beat it by a year. There was also the Mt. Saint Helens eruption and Chernobyl. In retrospect, we had a lot of things going on back then!

I would have been two, so I am guessing no. I should just look up a list to see what I remember and what I don't. There are probably a lot of things I hardly even realize.

OMG I have a great one for this!!!! How exciting. No wondering what to do this time.

Good, I can't wait to read it!

I was about ten years old when I met Elvis' music, it was on a walk with some cousins. One of his friends had a cassette player in his car and played that wonderful music.

I recently saw the movie they made about his relationship with Colonel Tom Parker, a great movie.

Happy weekend dear @ericvancewalton . Thanks for this new initiative.

That was a really good film! It's crazy how little Austin Butler looks like Elvis in real life but he actually became him in the movie. It was almost as though he was a chameleon. Thank you! I hope you had a great weekend!

How are you dear friend @ericvancewalton good afternoon
What a great idea you had when creating this Monday challenge, I really enjoy answering each week's topics, this is very interesting
I also remember the death of Elvis Presley, my uncles and my parents listened to his music, I love that record player, we also had one at home
I loved your memories, I appreciate you sharing this experience
Have a beautiful day

I'm good, I hope you are too! Thank you my friend!

With the exception of Michael Jackson (and possibly Prince and George Michael), I can’t think of many other celebrity deaths that have had such an profound impact on modern society in my lifetime.

Michael Jackson was exceptional not just for America, but for the world stage as well.. You can not believe in our village if you ask a 6-year-old guy and if he happens to have an interest in Dancing then he would say he wanna be like Jackson, such is the craze even in 2024.

When looking back across the decades we humans have a way of remembering the past to be better than it really was.

Very true.....I have also observed in my life, that past memories tend to store more positive and nostalgic things.

Thank you, Sir.

Have a great day/

Thank you, I hope you enjoyed your weekend!

🙏🙏🙏

Sharing on Twitter.

After starting a good contact, people are very interested and there are many special memories of childhood. And now that we are 26 years old, we have seen this coming true. I will definitely try to participate in it now.

It's sad when famous people die, earlier songs were different

It's sad when famous people die, earlier songs were different

One of the things that really got me scared sometimes is how we hear about some famous people and suddenly we stop hearing about them any longer

This is definitely an interesting topic, this one would ould be the one I write ☺️

The experience of the forest is very special at every age and brings back childhood memories

It's amazing how certain events and experiences can shape our lives. The story of Elvis Presley's death and its impact on you is a great example of that.

It's interesting to think about how the world was different back then, and how public figures could hold the attention of the entire world in a way that's harder to imagine today. With the rise of social media and the fragmentation of entertainment genres, it seems like there are fewer artists who can capture the attention of the entire world.

I am glad to learn that even though the world has changed, the impact of certain events and figures can still be profound. The death of Anthony Bourdain, for example, had a significant impact on many people, including yourself.

When it comes to the question of whether the past was better, I think it's a matter of perspective. There were certainly aspects of the past that were simpler and more innocent, but there were also challenges and struggles that people faced. In the end, it's up to each of us to appreciate the good things about the past while also recognizing the progress that's been made since then.

Thanks for sharing your memories and insights with us, please, expect my entry by tomorrow.

Elvis was popular with folk slightly older than our age group. Although I only enjoyed one or two of his songs, no one can take away the fact he introduced a different style into the music world with entertaining.

My this weeks entry. I know its late, but penning down old memories is unfolding too many memories. Thanks friend
https://ecency.com/hive-148441/@shamis/it-was-a-fateful-day?referral=shamis