THE DAYS OF DOCTOR PEDRO

in #ocd4 years ago (edited)

0f231509-doctors--696x417.png
Source

CHAPTER 8

The pains was unbearable for her. She continued to sweat and cry, I remember I was just assuring her that she would be alright. It was already too late, Aunty was never going to be alright, she knew what she was doing, I was her only friend and she wanted to die right in my hands. My Aunty gave up the struggle to live she died in the car before we got to the hospital in the town.

The car driver stopped and he tried to see what was actually wrong. He checked my Aunty and confirmed he his dead. I cried as mother mother rolled on the floor, my father as usual would never cry but always sober and mute when he finds himself in a difficult situation. We had to turn our car around to head back to the village.

The mission blamed us for my Aunty death, he told us we should have brought her on time, if we had she would have survived, my father hated himself for making his hatred for the white people get the worst out of him. We buried my Aunty that night, my mother was right, giving birth is a fight between life and death, either party could win or both party end up as a draw; in this case we lost to death.

That night was when the story of my life changed, I made up my mind I was never going to be weak, I won’t be helpless in a situation when when someone close to me is dying. I would not watch my loved ones dying while the only thing I do is crying. I decided to take a bold step that night which changed my life forever.

I left our house that night rushing to the white peoples house, i could not speak English but it was good because there was someone from our village who could interpret our language to them. this had been their means of communications with us, ever since they came to our village. when i got to the Coventry, the white man offered me a seat and a glass cup of water to drink, they asked me what i wanted to eat but i refused to eat anything, I just told him i needed to speak to him. he agreed to speak to me without hesitation

"I am sorry about the loss of your , i know how painful it is to lose an aunty." He said

"I am weak and helpless, i cant do anything than cry while i watch my loved ones die, I am so useless, I dont think i can do anything to change the situation," I said

"No child, you are not weak, neither are you helpless, God gives lives and he also take it, we all have watched our loved ones die, this things should not make us down but rather bring out the strength in us." He replied

"How do i bring out the strength in me?" I asked

"What do you think you can do to help your loved ones and prevent them from dying? he asked

I took a pause to have a big think about what I can and an idea came to my mind which made me what i am today.

"I want to make sure I good care of them just like it is done in the city." I replied

The white man came closer to me as he tapped my shoulder and said to me.

"it is alright son, we have had a good chat tonight... go home so as not to stop your parent from been worried and tomorrow we would continue from where we stop." He said

Sort:  

Congratulations @olumzy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!