THE DAYS OF DOCTOR PEDRO

in #ocd4 years ago

0f231509-doctors--696x417.png
Source

CHAPTER 7

Her scream was an indication that she was about to give birth. My father had to put her in a wheel barrow heading straight to the High priest shrine where most women do give birth, like i explained before, it was very hard for us to go to the hospital, so we only make use of what is available. My father had to push her on the wheel barrow, it was an hard job, but the love for a sister is very strong just like the love i have for my late sister. There was little i could do, i just had to come along with a keg of water for my father to drink any time he his thirsty.

After a while, we got to the place we were heading to, the priest daughters came to our aid as they assisted us in lifting up my aunty and walked her into the inner chamber. we were instructed to wait outside. Not long after this, the high priest came to meet us where we were sitting and gave my father a list for the rituals to appease the gods for a safe delivery, the list included seven fat goats, two kegs of palm oil and forty two tubers of yam.

My father rushed to get this things while my mother and i stayed behind in case there is a need for anything else. we were both praying to the gods to help her with her delivery. My mother told me that a pregnant women signed her death warrant just to give birth to the loved ones they have. Been pregnant is a fight between life and death, either life wins or death wins sometimes could end as a stale mate. I was really scared because I cant bear the shock of loosing somewhere dear to me again, I prayed to the gods to spare her life and that of her baby.

My father came back with what the high priest asked for, the goats were slaughtered immediately and the rituals was done, it was not long her water bag busted meaning there is a good news coming, it was so unfortunate for my aunty... her child was coming out with her legs which means she could die and even the baby could die.

"Elder, you need to move your sister to the big hospital, if we continue she may die." the high priest suggested.

"Nothing must happen to my sister, it is late, how do I get her to the city? He asked

"The white people living in our village have a car, they can help you take your sister to the hospital." the high priest replied

My father refused because he hated the white missionaries, it has been three days now that my aunty has been in pains of labour, my mother pleaded with her father to let go of his hatred that saving the life of his sister is the most important thing at the moment. After a long deliberation my father agreed to go to the white peoples house for help. we had to put my aunty on a wheel barrow and moved her to the next destination, I watched my aunty in pains as she cries and sweat like a boiled chicken. we moved as fast as we can this time around because my aunty life is at stake.

When we got to the Coventry, The sisters in the Coventry were so nice to us, they understand the urgency of what we came for, we asked them to help us with there car to take my aunty to the hospital which they agreed out-rightly. My aunty requested i sit right next to her, she held me strong on my hands crying and telling me she did not want to die, i was hurt deep down inside me because there was nothing i could do, i have always been a coward who watches his loved ones dies and have nothing to offer than tears.

Sort:  

Congratulations @olumzy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!