THE DAYS OF DOCTOR PEDRO

in #ocd4 years ago

CHAPTER FOUR

0f231509-doctors--696x417.png
Source
It did not take long, the days of the outbreak was over, our village was recovering from the outbreak attack. Life that was beautiful at the initial stage became a nightmare. People have lust their husband, wife, children and even parents. It was a dark period that even if the community got over it, some people would not get over it. People like me who lost his sister or my mother who lost her daughter. My father even though needs to show to his family that he his a tough man would some days be alone and cry that he has lost his daughter.

Gradually, the missionaries established a school and encourage the children of our village to attend, they encourage us to give our lives to Jesus Christ that he can carry our burden for us. My father never believed in western education, he believes it is evil and creat room for rebellion and uprising because of this, he insisted that no body should ever go to mission house for any reason.

I usually disobey my father because the mission house is where you can always get something to eat. The very first place I ate chicken in my life was the mission house. It was indeed a succulent feelings and I thought there must be another world this white people came from. I was a very good friend of evangelist David Cross, he tell me stories of the Great Britain and how beautiful home was for him. One day my father found out that I sneak to the mission house with some other kids, he was so angry with me that he beat me so hard that I was bleeding, that night is fresh in my memory. My dad ties me to a tree as he beats hell out of me, I scream for help but no one could rescue me, my mum is really scared of my father so she could not do anything. After he was satisfied beating me, she asked his wife to take me to the room and take care of my wounds.

I stopped visiting the mission house after the incident. Anytime I remember the incident it was a painful moment. I started going to farm with my father to assist him the little way I can, on our way back from farm we would pick woods for mother to cook, it is always a wonderful thing to have a meal prepared by your own mother. One day on our way back home from farm, I saw my Aunty in our house, Aunty Chiemalla, my dad’s sister. She has done the most shameful thing... getting pregnant for an Osu man... it was so shameful that they had to hide her in my father house since no one knows her in that village. I really pitied her when I saw her, her tears was enough to fill a drum.

The next episode tomorrow

Sort:  

Congratulations @olumzy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.
You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!