The animals of Bangkok

in #ocd2 years ago

Hello and welcome to another post.

Today I wanted to do something a little bit different than my usual travel posts. I decided that I want to post some photos of various animals that I have seen while I stayed in Bangkok. Some of them are a little bit older and others are more recent.

I've visited quite a few animal cafés here and also spent a fair amount of time in the parks where you will find some cool animals too. I spent an entire morning at one of the larger parks of the city and got to see a lot of furry friends there. Also some less furry ones haha.

IMG20221022075039.jpg

This is the park that I visited called Lumphini Park. It's a very popular park in Bangkok and if you go there in the morning it will be packed with people doing their morning jogs or other types of workouts. It's also way too hot to go there any later so I guess people don't wanna miss their chance in the morning.

IMG20221022081630.jpg

In the park, you will see a lot of stray cats and also big lizards. These lizards which are called Asian Water Monitors are surprisingly large and you will see them swimming in the water and walking around on the grass. I guess they are not really aggressive like Komodo Dragons or something since it seems the cats and the lizards co-exist peacefully in the park.

IMG20221022082210.jpg

The cats in the park seem to be in good health. There is a weird thing I noticed right away when I first traveled here. Most of the cats you see have no tail or at best a broken-looking one. I was really curious as to why that is and my first thought was that someone is purposefully cutting their tails off. It turns out though that it is all due to genetics and is very common all over Southeast Asia.

IMG20221022075630.jpg

There are a lot of lizards all over the city but none are as big and cool looking as these guys. There are so many of them in the park but you can also see them around the city near canals and such. One time a big one came out of the bushes right next to me when I was walking along a canal.

IMG20221022082805.jpg

Ok so that was it for the animals I saw at the park. There are also some turtles in the water but I couldn't get a good picture of them since they were all swimming around. However, I did also see some cool animals in the city so let's get to those next.

IMG20221023125525.jpg

This one probably being the coolest of them all. This is Marwin the moto-taxi cat. He just chills around all day long at one of the moto-taxi stands in central Bangkok and watches over the drivers. I love that he wears the vest and everyone loves him a lot.

Onto the last photos for today. The left photo is of a derpy looking cat I saw at a cat café and I saw the dogs on the right when I was walking down the street. They were sitting at a street food stand and that's probably the reason why they are so fat. I'm guessing they eat all the leftovers. It can not be healthy for them but at least they seem happy.

Alright, that is the end of the post for today.

I hope you enjoy the photos as much as I enjoyed taking them. I love animals a lot and it has been a lot of fun walking around and seeing all kinds of different breeds and species in this city. I will be posting more photos of cool things I see around the city from now on since I will be staying here for a little longer. So thanks again if you made it this far in the post and I'll see you next time!

Peace, Straw

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @acidyo ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Those are some "chonky" cats and dogs right there haha, and for the looks of it, they do seem to be well taken care of and well fed too.

Marwin right there is my favorite with that little vest on, he just takes the cake. But it seems that he got caught snoozing on the job. 😂

Haha yeah I was looking for chonkers and I am happy with what I got.

Marwin is easily my favorite too lmao. Best mototaxi in town.

Bet that's Marwin when he's off duty. 😂

untitled.gif

In Mexico the siesta is a favorite and most of these animals seem to like their siestas !LOLZ

If it wasn't for window blinds...
It'd be curtains for all us.

Credit: reddit
@strawhat, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/8)

hahah yeah siesta all day for these little guys I think

Great photos!

It's lovely to see cats looking so healthy and comfortable in their surroundings. If I were to compare them to the ones I saw across Cebu, Philippines, and in the province where I lived, I'd say that these are well-cared-for cats.

Most of the cats you see have no tail or at best a broken-looking one.

That surprised me too when I saw them in the Philippines.

They have big lizards that they call monitor lizards there in the Philippines too, and I lived on a cliff on the seafront, where several monitor lizards lived in the rocks.
They are swift and alert normally and would disappear at the slight sound of my door. However, some days the eldest one would come out and sit for over an hour, and I would talk to it (from my patio, of course) and not be bothered.

The dogs here look happy and well fed too. I guess they wouldn't want to trade places 😁

Oh yeah they looked really well taken care of. However you do see a lot of strays around the city that look much worse than these. Kinda depends on the location I guess.

Yeah that was weird for me at first and it didn't really seem like any of my friends had an answer for the tails being that way.

Haha that's awesome. The lizards are super cool animals and i could sit and just watch them go for hours lol.

The dogs do look happy but I don't think they'll live too long looking like that. Anyway it does seem like the owners love them very much and they could have it a lot worse.

You do it again, sir, I as a representative feel disappointed not you invited to adventure to this place😅

By the way I like to see the sweet cat, for the lizard, in the pond my neighbor's fish is very large in size than the one in the photo, almost similar to the alligator😅

hahah yeah sorry about that. Next time I'll bring the crew!

😅😅

Don't forget your promise captain😁

You aren't scared of those big lizards? By nature they don't harm I think, they just mind there own business unless they are hurt. But the fact that they are wild and their scary features makes me faint😆

Haha well the first time I saw them I was definitely a little bit intimidated by it walking towards me but I quickly realized that they just wanna go about their business just like us.

Walking towards you!! I'll definitely jump out of my trouser.🤣🤣

Haven't been back to Bangkok since Covid hit! Would love to visit it again soon as it used to be a country I frequent alot! Was never a fan of animals but your post might make me change my mind a little! Those monitor lizards are looking real scary though, haha! Thanks for sharing about your trip as it brings back alot of beautiful memories for me! :)

I am glad you've been able to visit this amazing city. Make sure to go check out Lumphini park if you wanna make friends with some of these furry guys.

Oh Lumphini Park, I do remember this place! But probably came across it while my train passes by that area! I will definitely check it out the next time round :) Thanks!

Indian-flying-fox.jpg

I saw a huge flying fox there in 2017. Yes, I was drunk. Yes, I was high, but I saw that shit. It was flying in a controlled way unlike little bats who bounce around struggling to stay airborne. I was so mad that nobody believed me. It looked at me and I looked at it. It had intelligence in its eyes. Either someone had it as a pet illegally and released it when it got too big or it flew up from the Philippines.

Lmao damn didn't know they have those here. Gonna keep an eye out. It looks pretty crazy too I bet haha.

I think they live in the banana trees. I lived in Bangkok for twenty years and would always roam around at night, but I only saw it once.

Cats sleeping is always cute. Those dogs look so similar, lol.

Yeah haha funny how all the cats I could find were in the middle of a nap.

Fantastic city, beautiful photos you have documented many animals.
@tipu curate

What a lovely photos.. Amazing place too.

So cute your cat's photos

Cats watching sleep and cats wearing nice clothes and these black dogs, they look fat but I wonder what they see...

Yeah I enjoy reading and scrolling 🤩
Send my regards to Marwin😍

Speaking of big lizards hmm I have never seen those before. They look terrifying but amazing. Thanks for sharing this with us

Congratulations @strawhat! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Funny and lovely cats

!PGM
!LUV
!LOLZ

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @rocinanteprimo

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@rocinanteprimo, sorry! You need more $LUV to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 10.0 LUV in your liquid wallet.

More LUV is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex

Beautiful clicks !

i love cats!! and those are really really pretty it makes me want to pet them jaja

is hilarious to see those fat pets jajaja one would think that as street animal they be skinny but noooo