ONO For Good - Value Of Attention

in #ono6 years ago

It's been almost 16 days since I posted on Steemit and the only reason I could give besides a 9 hours job is my ongoing research on ONO and trying to grasp concepts written in the White Paper. At first, I thought it was easy, just read the White Paper like a newspaper one night, some concepts were easy to understand and some were complicated that I kept aside for later reading. Once I was done reading the last page, I had a document opened in front of me with almost 900 words :|

What that document was all about?

It was about about all those topics that I had to research later, deleted that document and started reading it again.

For those who don't know about ONO!

It's the first largest decentralized social network for HUMANS!

Yes, for humans, not for investors, not for spammers and I guess not for Bid bots.

Started going through the White Paper again and this time, I took my time and came across some simple but deep combination of words. Did my research to get an idea and logic behind those words, why they were written in the White Paper and how they would make ONO different from other social media platforms.

Value Of Attention

According to ONO's White Paper

ONO is a social network based on blockchain technology which focuses on the value of attention

Money is an object and has no value in itself but on this planet, a value has been assigned to it and legally, we all are bound to use it for exchanging goods and services. However, with the advancement in technology and digital marketing/advertising platforms, our attention has also been assigned a value that can be bought and sold on the international marketplace. Facebook has been doing the same since ages and infact, majority of the people who are using this platform don't even know that their content and attention has a value which they are giving for FREE! Have you ever emailed/called Mark Zuckerberg to pay you for your attention on his platform and selling the same to advertisers without giving you a penny? Will you ever sue him for placing ads in your news feed without your permission? Most people still argue that Facebook has all the rights to sell our Attention to advertisers since we are also not paying anything to FB for using his application but people who wanted freedom came up with some brilliant ideas and ONO is one of them.

The good thing about ONO is that it's not made by those investors who would be blindly selling your attention. You yourself will be creating a value of your attention and then getting rewards in the form of ONOT. Creating high quality content doesn't always promise high rewards due to lack of attention and we have already experienced this on Steemit. People who are sharing high quality content with low Steem Power are often neglected and people having more Steem Power with a low quality content are just raping the reward pool (Sorry but it's true).

In ONO, the value of attention is clearly defined. A creator spends time and energy to create a content, the value of that content would be determined by the user's attention and both users and content creators would be rewarded for their Attention. You will be free to share your own content, engage with others content and through participation in building the ONO ecosystem and networking, you will be incentivized with ONO tokens. Your rewards will not depend on how much money you have in your account but through your participation in making this platform a heaven for Humans. So let's suppose if I can't create a content/quality post, I can still earn rewards by participating in the ONO ecosystem by commenting, liking, disliking, reposting or in short, engaging with the community! Now, I don't have to be a spammer, copy posts from Google and pasting them on my blog. I don't need a large amount of ONOT in my wallet to earn rewards (Yes, I am talking about Steem Power) and at the same time, I won't be waiting for a rich person to reward me! In short, every activity on ONO will be rewarded to those who are honest, play fair and not trying to manipulate the platform thorough their malicious activities.

This is what I have understood so far about the concept of Value of Attention. I am planning to write one short post daily on every term/concept mentioned in the White Paper that can help people understand ONO's vision and philosophy.

ONO Official Links

Official website: https://www.ono.chat
Telegram Chinese: https://t.me/ONOCN
Telegram English: https://t.me/ONOUS
Russian ONO: https://t.me/ONORU
Sina Weibo: https://weibo.com/ONOofficial
WeChat official account: onogogo
Twitter:https://twitter.com/onosocial
Medium: https://medium.com/@ONOsocial
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@onosocial
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/onosocial/
Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/user/onosocial
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7M5sz5EjUvOg2sMP6BEncg

Love!


Avatar Made By @trishy

Sort:  

Is this Chinese?

The first version of this app was launched in Chinese, it launched on April 15, 2018. The English version would be launched in May along with some other languages as well!

Wow.... this sounds great to me. It is like they see all the problems we have here on Steemit and are working to fix them and create a new platform where everything benefits the Originators of great original creative Content... the way Steemit was supposed to be. I can’t wait to join ONO. I hope I can get an early invitation. I am ready to start today.

Exactly @offgridlife, you got that right! They don't have any corporate or investor type approach, they are making this platform for real human beings!

Excellent. Robot Free

Your avatar is so coool, also Ke has your article translated into Chinese...which is super cool too

Your avatar is so coool
LOL, thank you but the eyes should have been green :(
also Ke has your article translated into Chinese...which is super cool too

Yeah, this is like an honor for me! She is a great person and thanks to you for letting us know about this platforrm! Okay, this is the fourth time I am saying thank you on this particular thing, I should stop :D

This was a very insightful article. Thanks for writing it.

No problem and thanks.

I'm having more faith we can use ONO. We can make our own English community there for the launch.

We can make our own English community there for the launch.
Yeah, we already have some steemians in a Telegram group who are contributing to this platform according to their skills.

I do like that it's completely transparent about where the money comes from. It comes from advertisers, and users can choose whether advertisers are allowed on their posts, and which particular advertisers. I can see this being huge for the beauty industry, the fitness industry, that already pay people through Instagram to pretend to naturally just want to talk about their product. ONO can be far more transparent about it all which is really exciting.

It took me a long time to figure out where the money comes from with Steem, and as far as I know, the system just creates more every day.

I do like that it's completely transparent about where the money comes from. It comes from advertisers, and users can choose whether advertisers are allowed on their posts, and which particular advertisers.
This is one of the ways users would be earning. A person who would be sharing some high quality content and getting more likes, reposts, comments would be rewarded with ONOT automatically by the system.
It took me a long time to figure out where the money comes from with Steem, and as far as I know, the system just creates more every day.

I still don't know, LOL

Are you an Australian? If yes, then I need to poke you on Discord. Need to ask you something.

Thanks.

Ha... Steem is literally created every day and handed out to Investors, Witnesses and Creators as part of the reward pool based on votes accumulated.

I am... I've messaged you on Discord.

This is my first exposure to ONO as a concept but the goal is fascinating! It seems almost futuristic since it will be functional in multiple languages and give users/contributors control over their creations. I will get the white paper and will dive into something that just maybe can take root as a true unifier of people.

Yeah, you should read the white paper, it will explain the ONO's vision and philosophy in more detail plus how the ecosystem will work on this platform.

Thanks alot for this post and for taking the time to share your research and explain the ONO ecosystem! 😊 I am very curious about ONO myself so I'll be following for more updates! Thank you again @ghulammujtaba! 😊

Thank you and I see that you are a wonderful artist. You can use #slothicorn tag next time when you share your artwork.

You can read about this project here: https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@slothicorn/what-is-slothicorn-looking-for-new-guidelines-for-newbies-monster-post

I would like to see a detailed comparison between the Steemit and ONO rewards systems.

I'll do that once I understand each and every word of the white paper. In the meantime, you can go through the WP and see some main differences yourself!

I can’t wait to create Origial Artwork for OnO ...

Sure sure, you have some great skills and you can join ONO once it's launched! I see your artwork daily and it's fantastic!

I appreciate you taking the time to translate the white paper and I too am interested in this startup when it is English also.

Looks like they are looking for value in Humans instead of the money the humans have.

I am also your new follower looking forward to updates.

Looks like they are looking for value in Humans instead of the money the humans have.

Exactly, that's how they would be building this platform! You should read their White Paper too to get an idea about their vision and philosophy!

I like your article😊

But I dislike your comment. What should I do?

Rock the rampage once again... ;)

Loading...