A morning with the seals.

in #photography6 months ago

The last few days have been tough with a little panic and anxiety setting in for some unknown reason. It was rather mild out this morning (and still is), so the youngest and I shot up the coast to see the seal pups. It was a flying visit as we had to get back by 12:00 but we managed to get there, have a walk about, and back again in under an hour.

We were immediately welcomed by a seal warden at the top of the dunes who pointed this little dude out to us. She explained they are weaned after 3 weeks and then just hang about on the beach until they can head to the sea.

IMG_3716.jpg

They have to shed this white fluffy coat before they can swim. It isn't waterproof and will lead to them drowning if the tide catches them out.

IMG_3758.jpg

Sometimes they just seem to pose for you!

IMG_3745.jpg

The gull had given this one a peck on the belly and it seemed less than please.

IMG_3743.jpg

There was a sign by the car park indicating that on the 14th December, 2028 adults had been counted on the beach and 3401 pups had been born so far this year.

IMG_3749.jpg

We had to divert off the path as we walked south as the wardens were keeping people away from pups that had got bored of the beach.

IMG_3736.jpg

These two seemed to be quite content.

IMG_3723.jpg

IMG_3722.jpg

The low sun at this time of year really seems to make the golds and browns pop out of the landscape.

IMG_3753.jpg

You can see how flat Norfolk is when looking in land.

IMG_2125.jpg

The eldest wants to go see them now so it looks like we'll be heading out for another trip tomorrow.

Sort:  

They are cute, but it's a tough life out at sea. I hope the kids enjoy this treat. You're lucky to have it nearby. The weather is not too bad today and looks like you have it nice too.

!BEER

We went back again today (more photos to come I'm afraid). I believe I overheard one of the wardens explain that around 40% won't make it to adulthood.

It was much colder today!

Nature is cruel, but then we could be overrun by seals.

Our old friend @brijwhiz from the 6SB days is on Hive. He has just been active after I created his account a while back.

!BEER

I am normally interacting with @stav over on twitter, one of the few people left there that I interact with :)

Finally got PeakD and Keychain running on my official laptop. Was trying to not do it, keeping a wall between professional and personal but that was not working out. Rarely ever open my personal laptop. So just decided to browse through my official laptop and get moving :D Great to see my good friends have been active here :)

I don't know of any other 6SB folk here, but there are lots of musicians. I hope you can find stuff you like. I know you are into chess and there may be some players here.

!PIZZA

I do sorely miss 6SB. That was such a lovely community. One of the only things I miss about now being on FB is not interacting with the 6SB gang

I miss it too. I do have some local musician friends who I can discuss that stuff with, but it's not the same. 6SB was something very special.


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hi @stav,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@steevc(1/10) tipped @brijwhiz