Hive Philippines Travel and Nature Photography #792 - by Allmonitors

#792 - Random Shots in Mount Samat of Bataan.

Greetings Hiveans. It's warm as usual and I just got home after picking up my mother in law and her relatives from the airport after they spent a couple of nights in Boracay island. We were supposed to go but because of financial constraints I was not able. My wife was able to join after my son was not able because of his class activities in school wherein he is required to participate in group activities. So instead of the hotel booking getting wasted my wife jumped in and went with them. She just had to look for a cheap separate flight. My wife came home earlier than the rest though. She commute from the airport because I don't have sleep yet when she arrived.

Moving on to our shots of the day we got here several photos of us when we made a stop to visit the Dambana ng Kagitingan shrine which is dedicated to the heroism of our soldiers during the last world war. This is after we spent a night in a cheap beach in the adjacent province of Zambales. The large and tall cross is the main attraction of this mountain. We had to walk uphill for several minutes before we reached the top and there spent less than an hour before descending.

20231229_125118.jpg

20231229_132457.jpg

I asked the wife to take some shots of me while I was standing near the large cross which has an elevator that is still under maintenance for a long time. People should ve able to reach the viewing area on top of the cross if the elevator is working.
20231229_131208.jpg

20231229_131211.jpg

Then I put her foldable phone on the ground as well so we can have a couple shots together. The artwork in the sides of the cross are all pertaining to the heroism of our soldiers.
20231229_131115.jpg

20231229_131107.jpg

After spending some time on top of the mountain we then went down using the stairs on a separate side of the mountain. It's a different path to take for exiting visitors. The entrance uses the large road paved with asphalt while the exit is using the stairs going to the museum where our large national flag is installed. This is where we took these next four shots almost on the exit stairs already.
20231229_125204.jpg

20231229_132600.jpg

20231229_132730(0).jpg

20231229_132749.jpg

Here's me on our way down to the museum. I was checking my phone for a bit here. As we can see the stairs is paved with large boulder of stones and cemented together. It's a zigzag way all the way down. It's a good exercise too. Aside from us there were also other people that came to visit the shrine.
20231229_131429.jpg

20231229_131624.jpg

Follow me on my nature travels.
Shot taken in Bataan, Philippines.

Image/s were shot using Samsung Z5 flip phone. ~rex

Sort:  

The elevator! decades na laging under maintenance yan 😀

Congratulations on a job well done! We are thrilled to see the outstanding results you've achieved. Your dedication and hard work have truly paid off, and it's inspiring to witness the impact you've made. Keep up the fantastic work, and know that your contributions are valued and appreciated.