Scene's From a Plane

in #pimplast year

I don't fly very often and, when I do, it's rare that I get a good window seat. Yesterday was one of those days where I did, indeed, fly and did, indeed, get a good window seat. I spent enough time gazing out the window that I got a crink in my neck!

20230109_155911.jpg

American Airlines usually has inflight internet available (for a fee, of course). It was not available this flight, so the window was a prime source of my entertainment. There is really not much to see when you're 10,000 feet in the air, but sometimes the clouds do become pretty epic.

20230109_170936.jpg

Somewhere, down there, are people.

20230109_170149.jpg

20230109_174555.jpg

During the descent into West Palm Beach I glanced out and, if you can see it, saw a tanker chugging along. When we were taxiing out of Philadelphia I remember looking at a couple of large UPS cargo jets. They were huge, and it made me wonder about the small packages that I've sent and received. A small package, maybe no larger than a book, often ends up in one of those cargo jets destined for wherever-in-the-world, maybe Peru, Bahrain, Scotland, or wherever. It's amazing our shit gets anywhere.

And this tanker. It was huge, but it certainly doesn't look it, does it? How many sailors do you think are on this ship? Maybe 20? Whatever their cargo is, it doesn't look like it could really be very much, could it?

20230109_175051.jpg

It's an interesting perspective looking out like this. As we descended the city came into view; lines of cars on the highway, emergency vehicles rushing toward an emergency and people just going about their lives. The world is huge, particularly in comparison to that tanker. When you think about it, the chances of any two people actually ever happening to intersect it pretty slim.

20230109_180025.jpg

Once on the ground and en route to the hotel everything became normal again, of course. Even trust old I95 was there waiting for me, like an old friend.

20230109_183608.jpg

I even got to drive down Australian Ave. What do you think of that, @galenkp? It was only a 2 hour flight away!

20230109_183705.jpg


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Sometimes photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

Blind Skeleton

Blind Skeleton Banner.png

Online Radio: https://blindskeleton.one/radio/
Three Tune Tuesday Live Stream: 12:00pm (noon) EST

Frogs of War Games

Frogs of War Banner.png

Tidwick

Tidwick Banner.png

The Feet Community

Feet Banner.png

What I Learned Today

What I Learned Today Banner.png

Sort:  

Bloody Australians, who do they think they are getting an avenue named after them! Lol.

Haha! They're everywhere! Maybe when you fly over we'll need to meet up here instead of Delaware! 😂

If I get to the States there's going to be an epic Hive-person meet up...I don't know where, maybe on in every State?

That'd be a helluva road trip, for sure!

(gah, I'm so behind right now; sorry for the late response)

No worries mate, one must prioritise and I know you've got a lot going on.

At least you didn't have to fly all the way here @wwwiebe.

It takes much longer than 2hrs from the US unfortunately!

I actually enjoy travel if I have the opportunity to visit! These business trips usually aren't as much fun because of the lack of being able to get out of the hotel.

Beautiful window view . :). I miss travelling . I wish to travelling sooner .

It was nice! I paid extra for it, and glad I was able to enjoy it. Hopefully you'll get to travel soon.

Cheers . ;). Yeah , sooner . !PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@tommyl33(5/10) tipped @wwwiebe (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I came to find your #ttt so support you directly :)

And found this... cool shots!

(sorry for late reply - I am so far behind right now)

Thank you! The pictures were rather spontaneous, too, along the lines of "Holy crap, I have my phone with me and can use it."

#ttt is definitely still a thing! Thank you for thinking of me. :)

Well I think you should definitely take more photos then! 👀

I do think of you though :)

Also... there is a vintage vinyl record (and clothing) store down the street here!!!

I may ask him if I can go and work for him... I can probably write in between customers. I would be happy there. Or a bookstore... three in this little town. Who would have thought?

More to follow. I'll take pics for you ;)

Vinyl and bookstores! I think you may have found the right place to settle for awhile! How awesome is that.

Would love to see pictures, for sure.

I would like to have a coffee cart. One I could push around to places, set up shop with a portable phonograph, play records and sell coffee until I have no more coffee to sell, then repeat the next day. Sadly, Rules and Regulations make that prohibitive for a small business, which makes me sad. But it would be a lot of fun.

Well... you could come to South Africa.

There are permits for that kind of thing and anyway... they'd have to catch you first. Although they probably would because it's easier than dealing with the hardened criminals out here so they do that instead :/

But we have tons of markets you know.

I'll send photos :D (When I update to this part of the journey...)

Yeah. It was a real surprise. How arty this place is. But not permanent for me. It's still too busy!

Moving to South Africa would be quite severe simply to sell coffee, but would certainly be quite the adventure!

Hmpf...

Finding a place to be free to live the life you want is most certainly not severe!

But yes! It would be quite the adventure :D

Wow, those pictures are beautiful!
Good job getting them through the window glas.
You know there's a cloud picture contest on?

Oh my goodness, no, I had no idea of such a contest. I must live under a rock. I will definitely go check it out. Thanks!

Good luck :-)
Your pics will be a nice addition to the contest.