TESTING OUT VYB

in #pob2 years ago (edited)

AWESOME! - The Verify Your Brain front end is up and running

image3A129877_chroma-01.jpeg

https://www.vybrainium.com/

I have a totally deranged amount of VYB tokens and am very enthusiastic about this project. Today I'm too busy to do a decent length post but just wanted to try out the new front end.

Having a few issues with posting images on the new front end, but I'll come back later and have another crack at it. In the mean time I've gone back to Peakd and added the images on that front end.

_storage_emulated_0_Pictures_Cartoon_Photo_cartoon1639209825431-01.jpeg

Sort:  

I can't log into #vyb or #proofofbrain with hivesigner password. It works for PEAKD .. Hate this shit. Good luck with #vyb ..

On the desktop I use keychain. This helps a lot.

problem is sites are not taking my keychain password.. but PEAKD is taking it.

It's strange that I have no problem working with the site and with keychain. I wonder why PeakD had not problem. It might have something to do with the browser. I made sure that when I logged in clicked "stay logged in"... maybe that's why.

I changed computers. May have something to do with it.

I find it takes ages looking like its not working, then does it

I found that is the way a lot of blockchain stuff works. It looks like it didn't go through and later we find it went through twice.

Dtube works the same way… I post stuff, get a huge red error saying I did something g wrong, but when I go to check everything was posted.

There are a few issues, but it's only just gone live - cross fingers and give it a few days - even if you can't see it, I'm already flinging VYB tokens around like confetti, and you have a growing VYB from the airdrop

Issues - can't get settings like dark mode or decline payouts to save, and can't post images using the new front end.

My short term workarounds - use Dissenter browser and redo the settings each time, post using VYB front end then add the pictures afterwards using Peakd.

0004.png

This inability of not being able to get into either site is on my end. Just computer stupid.

Just keep posting as usual, and you will be earning VYB tokens in the background

Yes .. Thank you frot-man

As long as you include the #vyb or #verifyyourbrain tag in your post you can post on any front end, your post will show on all the Hive based front ends, and you will be earning VYB tokens on your posts along with Hive and POB if you also use a #pob or #proofofbrain tag - I'm a whale on VYB so will be able to give you bigger upvotes in VYB tokens (this is edited because I had it all wrong before)

A lot of the features you mentioned are there but not in the place you expect. I had no problem loading images a few hours ago. The dark mode is in the settings when you click on your profile picture. Enough is there to start and as we explore we will find ways to improve. Not bad for day one.

Thanks. I can never find the night mode. Going now. It’s night time here … everyone is asleep….. so I need the night mode.

I've found the settings but so far haven't got them to stick - for example dark mode disappears each time I refresh, images will only load if I add them on other front ends, and I can't turn off the rewards in the Brave browser but can do one comment at a time in Dissenter.

No panic, I'm sure they are temporary problems, but I just want to point them out to get them looked into.

Which browser are you using?

I use brave on my desktop windows 10 and cell phone android.

Right - I'm using Win 7, Linux Mint, and Android, with Brave, Firefox, Chrome, Chromium, Dissenter, and Opera - I'll give them all a test out when I have more time!

PS - rewards off in Dissenter is now sticking

I see. A lot of browsers^^

It’s working well for me.

Are the posts automatically published on Hive or you have to post separately @frot?

IGNORE THIS!

As long as you include a #pob or #proofofbrain tag in your post you can post on any front end, your post will show on all the Hive based front ends, and you will be earning VYB tokens on your posts along with Hive and POB - I'm a whale on VYB so will be able to give you bigger upvotes in VYB tokens

A quick clarification is in order. During the first few weeks, VYB tokens will only be issued to posts that use one of the two VYB-specific tags -- #vyb and #verifyyourbrain. After the first few weeks, then we will add the Proof of Brain tags to the smart contract -- at that time, any post with any of the VYB or POB tags will earn VYB.

Thanks - I have more questions than you can shake a stick at but I'm sure you must be very busy so I'll try not to bother you too much this week.

MERRY XMAS!

Hey @frot, to receive VYB via upvotes you will need the #vyb or #verifyyourbrain tag on your posts then upvotes from staked VYB will apply.

People will receive #vyb for their comments on your post since the comments have been posted in the #vyb tag (a bug has been recently fixed which was causing comments to drop the #vyb tag which then dropped the comment from the www.vybrainium.com frontend).

If you don't want to receive VYB but you still want to receive POB, you can add the tags #novyb or #no-vyb to your #pob, #proofofbrain, or #hive-150329 tagged posts.


Thanks for the feedback about the front-end, I've passed it along! Images haven't been an issue for me on Brave but I'm imagining there will be differences across all the browsers/distros. I wonder how difficult it would be to set up a quick support-request channel on the main page for these bug fixes.

Hope you're having a good start to the week fella!

Thanks for that - do you know where the best place to discuss all this sort of stuff at the moment is?

What I'm trying to do is turn off all the rewards on my posts and comments at this point because they all get auto downvoted and it's trashing my rep

So i'm commenting using the VYB front end but have to keep going back into settings and declining rewards each time because they don't stay that way.

We had an idea for a community feedback and communication layer called POB/VYBetc but I haven't had the time to flesh it all out alongside vyb.earn. Hopefully, something like that will be introduced soon to solve the issue of community -> team feedback.

I'll tag @trostparadox as he knows the details about declining rewards and will be able to answer the question with more clarity.

As long as you include athe #vyb or #verifyyourbrain tag in your post you can post on any front end, your post will show on all the Hive based front ends, and you will be earning VYB tokens on your posts along with Hive and POB if you also use a #pob or #proofofbrain tag - I'm a whale on VYB so will be able to give you bigger upvotes in VYB tokens (this is edited because I had it all wrong before)

We plan to publish a post in the future specifically related to the topic of reputation-protection, but here is a quick sneak-peek.

We specifically requested some modifications to the Hive-Engine token-rewards smart contract to assist you and others like you in your quest to maintain your Hive reputation in the face of those who would like to tear it down by upvoting then downvoting.

And, our request was granted!

So, with that said, the VYB token will ignore Hive's 'decline rewards' feature. This means that you can create your posts (and/or comments) from any front-end, choose the 'decline rewards' option, yet still earn VYB tokens if you use one of the VYB-specific tags ( #vyb or #verifyyourbrain ).

Your above post seems like it will be the first real-world test of that feature.

Adding this feature to the VYB smart contract does mean that posts that clearly need to have their rewards declined (e.g. spam or other intentionally low-info posts) will need to be manually muted by the @vyb.vyb account in order to retain the 'spirit' of the 'decline rewards' feature.

That sounds brilliant!

We need to get the same thing happening with the comments as a default too because they are relentless in downvoting comments, but this could be the first time my posts have earned anything in months.

Great stuff.

Woo hoo…. It’s running. No Downvotes. That’s the best idea I have heard in years.

Now, what's the difference between VYB and POB? I am lost😏

This was discussed in some detail in the initial VYB white paper.

The major difference is that VYB rewards are not affected by downvotes.

Also, I like to think of VYB as a 'companion' token to POB, but with an explicitly long-term focus (i.e. as a retirement / rainy-day token).

Hmm, sounds interesting. So some flaws were observed in POB then VYB was created to correct that? That's how I kind of see it.

I would not call them 'flaws'. POB was launched as a bold experiment and has been very successful. VYB is a new kind of experiment, that has the benefit of some of the lessons learned via the POB experiment. The two are complementary, like yin and yang.

The idea of two tokens working together (or in tandem) is something I've been pondering for many, many months.

You can check out this post I wrote last March that talks about "Two Tokens to Rule Them All".

Although POB and VYB are considerably different from the "Two Tokens" I envisioned 9 months ago, the idea is similar -- two tokens that work together, complement each other, but are distinctly different in their focus and application.

All right, I got that now.

As long as you include the #vyb or #verifyyourbrain tag in your post you can post on any front end, your post will show on all the Hive based front ends, and you will be earning VYB tokens on your posts along with Hive and POB if you also use a #pob or #proofofbrain tag - I'm a whale on VYB so will be able to give you bigger upvotes in VYB tokens (this is edited because I had it all wrong before)

Okay, thanks for the clarification.

So what you are saying is that I should start to use the #vyb tag as I already use the #proofofbrain tag on all of my posts???

Quick answer - YES - if you tag you posts with both #pob and #vyb you will earn both.

I might do a post about this soon, but in short, because everything I post on Hive is downvoted - posts and comments, I'm moving most of my voting power into VYB where there is no downvoting.

What I'm aiming for is:

Hive (total in all my accounts) = 100HP - I peaked at 250k three months ago, so this is a huge drop, but I've had a gutsful of the downvoting
POB = 10k staked
VYB = 120k+ staked - and this I'll let grow

So my votes in VYB will be by far the most valuable

Strange? Why are you being downvoted?

I probably should do a post about this because so many people are asking - and given that every post I've done has been nuked automatically for the past three months, and previously many of them were, going right back to February, I'm past caring if I wind up any more whales!

There are a bunch of subjects that the Hive cabal do not allow, like any discussion of their own corrupt activities, and exposing the coronahoax is a big no no...

Sorry, I missed this. So you ran afoul of someone. I don't know what it's about and maybe you must just wait for the dust to settle. I never get involved in arguments.

This dust will never settle! But yes, you are a charity, dont touch this with a 10 foot poll.

Nope, I never get involved in these these things as they are way above me.
I only wondered at your downvotes mare.

It's aliiiiiiive!

Still a few small niggles, but looking good so far

ab87be31ee34e787.png