Sunday Main Events Review (28/05/2023)

in #pokerlast year

I haven't played at all in the partypoker/bwin room for the past week. Therefore, instead of a weekly summary, I will only write about the 2 major Sunday tourneys in more detail.

I started Sunday as usual, with satellites. I sat down to play quite late, only 1.5 hours before the start of the main tourneys. I still had a lot of tickets for the smaller, $22 buyin Sunday Carnival, but I still played the last step ($3.3 buyin). The most important thing was getting the $109 Sunday Party ticket. (What was a real name and boosted prize pool again. From 150k to 200k Gtd.)

There are 3 larger satellites 1-2-3 hours before the start of the main event, the last hyper-turbo. I played the last two, managed to win a $22 ticket and slip into the $109 ticket at the last minute on the hyper-turbo sat. I used 4 x $16.50 ticket on the satties for getting the $109 one. (I always start to collect th $16.50 tickets during the week from $0.55-3.30, so in the end, I got the ticket around half price.)

sunday party sat1.jpg

sunday party sat2.jpg

When the last satellites were over, the 2 tourneys had already started. So after a little break I late reg for both.

sunday mains in lobby.jpg

Let's start with the smaller one. $22 buyin $40k Gtd Sunday Carnival.

I was doing fine for a while, here are the screenshots about bounty taking hands + the one, when I lost such an attempt.

sunday carnival hand1.jpg

sunday carnival hand2.jpg

sunday carnival hand3.jpg

sunday carnival hand4.jpg

sunday carnival hand4 won.jpg

So I was really doing well, I could collect $17.50 from the above 3 bounties, the buyin cost almost came back. Then, near to the money (just 50 players to go) this lovely thing happened... I wrote about it many times how unlucky I'm regarding similar situations, I know, I can't play a single tourney without these, so I try to avoid them like hell, especially near to money, but here I couldn't fold, especially not vs. this loose player. He had a pretty wild range, when pushed back that allin on turn, and only KJ was beating me, I couldn't fold... of course, a lot of swearing... the 3+ hours well playing was destroyed (and a very good chance to go deep in this tourney) within a second with that flop nuts vs. 2nd nuts...

sunday carnival hand last.jpg

sunday carnival hand last2.jpg

sunday carnival finish.jpg

sunday carnival finish lobby.jpg

Worth to note, just like in the last week, both of these tourneys were in overlay, not a big one, 5-7%, but still some.

The bigger one, the $109 buyin $200k Gtd Sunday Party. The Millions Online series are still running, so it was part of that, again. Real name, boosted prize pool, again overlay, even if this time it was a smaller one.

It didn't start well at all. 2nd dealt hand. I couldn't call it with AKo on the river, because there were 5 people in the pot on the flop, so likely a J or 88, 33 could be in his hand.

sunday party hand1.jpg

This guy played nuts. He went preflop allins with similar hands many times, he was lifting up and down, fortunately from BB the KK hold, and I could get back to starting chips (a bit above).

sunday party hand2.jpg

The first (and last) knock out and bounty ($25). It would take too many pictures to share it move by move, but it was obvious I have better hands. He checked on flop, and when I openbet on turn, he went allin, the best I could imagine is 2 diamond overcards.

sunday party hand3.jpg

This one was important, as I lost many small pots during this period.

sunday party hand4.jpg

The lovely 44. I won right here, but lost (and relegated) 2 times vs. 44 set on the flop in this Sunday.

sunday party hand5.jpg

sunday party hand6.jpg

I had a relatively nice stack, after the end of late registration period. So, I could fold this hand, it was a good one. (I was even thinking on 3bet from SB a step earlier, good that I haven't done it, after that, I couldn't fold.)

sunday party hand7.jpg

sunday party hand7 good fold.jpg

Again nearly an hour nothing. Lost 3 small pots, and blinds were eating me, so when I got a 3bet for my openbet, I had to go allin with QQ. (It was 1-2 minutes after I relegated from the other event...) I hoped, he will show smaller pair or Ax, but not AK.

sunday party last hand - no.jpg

Of course, it was AK, this time I flopped a full-house, however he had the A draw, luckily he didn't get it.

sunday party last hand - no - but was dangerous.jpg

As we were near to money (just 100 players to go) and I have more or less average stack size, and after the relegation on the other tourney, I have decided to slow play it till the ITM. It turned out, wasn't the best decision, I folded 99, AQs, AJs preflop, early position, just to get in the money. (And with 99 I could flop a set, take another bounty.) But for me, these big events are important, even just reaching money makes a significant difference, especially in the downswing, badbeat, tilt combo I have, had in the last few weeks.

Of course, I could reach the money, in this way, however it's obvious result, I'll be in allin/fold situation after that for 1-2 played hands. Not so far after we were in the money, I got JJ in UTG, a bloody hand from that position, but I didn't really have any choice, so went allin. The 44 hit back... again no comment, even with slowplaying, if I could win this 80-20% hand, I could get back to near average stack and go much deeper.

As I am getting these kind of beats most of the time in these big tourneys, in key situations, it has a huge minus ROI effect. And the annoying part, I can't do anything with it. Max. praying, please one time, don't do it in the main events, do it on micros, satties!!!

sunday party really last hand.jpg

sunday party really last hand2.jpg

Total won $167.50 from these 2 tourneys (the reg cost was $131.00). What can I say, I keep playing these, only because of the satellites, so I can get cheap tickets, so near to breakeven results are making some profit. However, if they change the satellites, I am done with both. This kind of continuing ('variance') lost favorable to me keyhands (especially 70%+ preallins) in very important situations wild series are not for my nerves, nor to my bankroll, pocket in these levels.

sunday party finish.jpg

sunday party finish lobby.jpg

That was my Sunday, pretty much the same like the last few, I won some small amount, but huge potential, much bigger amounts stayed in these tourneys, what hard not to see as some kind of loss, especially, when you play well.

See you next time! Good luck at the tables!

Sort:  

Congratulations @pokermaria! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP