Sorry I'm Cringe.

in #proofofbrain10 months ago

I'm cringe. There I said it. Lol
It's the whole online oracle thing.
Blegh.

I mean, yeah Ive been reading tarot professionally for almost 25 years and do my best to be authentic and cool and not come off like a total new age charlatan on the internet but it's haaaard.

Especially when there's so many people out there claiming to be 'spiritual guides' and monetizing their insights for profit meanwhile reinforcing the belief that somehow they're the authority on, well, anything.

Like, why would you pay someone for life advice who's life clearly isn't together themselves?

It's like taking an abundance course from someone who's sole job is to sell abundance courses. Argh. Echo chamber vibes.

For real though, why would you pay someone simply to randomly pull a card from a deck, draw parallels from a book they read that could easily relate to anyone and then subtly place themselves above you in authority about your own life only to then paint suggestions that enforce you don't know better?

And call that spirit? Call that God?

OH!!!! And meanwhile these 'oracles' and 'priestesses' and new age 'shamans' appropriate basically every other culture's tools, medicines, and traditions except their own indigenous ones again FOR PROFIT.

But that's really only so they can happily live in peace on colonized indigenous land meanwhile feeling fully superior to their peers yet completely unitiated by the lineages they're representing.

And why is it these six figure life coaches preaching peace and prosperity seem to be noticabley absent in offering their voice to eco-activism, or uplifiting those that are oppressed. How many online oracles do you see utlizing their platforms to give voice to those who often don't have a voice?

Seems like these 'shamans' and 'oracles' often spend their profits on expensive vacations, clothes and jewelry not to mention lavish crystals mined by slaves that bombed the earth and were then sold on the black market.

They spend their time taking being 'influencers' and doing wavy tube arm man dances and preaching 'empowerment'.

I facepalm myself so hard.

Haha.

Cuz I admit I've been that before.

I've fallen into the trap that so many mid thirties white girls fall into when we fly the nest of our suburban middle class lifestyles and wanna feel connected and free and spiritual .

When we don't wanna deal with our own childhood trauma so we become 'captain save a hippy' and wanna fix everyone else's.

When we don't wanna do the difficult work to deprogram our own religious programming and instead project it into earth traditions with campire kumbayas and dogmatic practices and bleggggh i just purged again in my tech sponsored ayauasca bucket!

So anyways, yep, I admit it. I'm cringe AF.
When I started Readings for the People I was cringey.
And I still am in ways I can't see.

But please show me where I am, if you would.
Please help me so I can keep dedicating to the work I was trained in and carry it out in an integral way.

My heart and soul still desires to study, to learn, to teach, to faciliate, and to serve others.

And I'm so sorry I'm so cringe.

I have a silver hair. now, and I'm learning better.

I am no Shaman.
Shamans are from Siberia.

I'm just a lady.
Born in occupied Ohlone territory in CA.
Living in occupied Chinook territory in WA.

Born to my Mom, Sherry and my Dad, Jim.

My ancestors are from Sweden, Scotland, Ireland, and Alcasia.

I'm a human who sees and feels things.
Who wants to be in service.

I wanna figure out how to get away from this lifestyle coach spiritual guru online course thing.

I just wanna drum and meditate and hold focused attention on the subtleties of spirit. I wanna draw celtic knots and make beats.

I wanna hear what's important to you about life right now, and help.

Everytime I do a session, I get a healing.
It isn't totally selfless.

It's just us showing up together, both offering our time and energy to focus on our spirits together and then sensing them together.

I didn't ask to be trained in all these modalities. I mean, I guess on some level I did, but also I've been training with my family since I was a child.

It was the environment I was born into.
It's a lineage I belong to.

I was taught to work with the public. To serve people through the gifts of divination, drumming, and dreams.

I was Initiated in a Rite of Passage ceremony and became a legal minister in 2005 by a bunch of older people who do the same thing. And they took me under their wing and taught me things.

So yeah, I'm not making this ish up.
It's my job and I was born to do it.

Anyways, I love you.
Just wanted to share so you know where I'm coming from.

Here for when ya need:
www.emilyra.com/book

IMG_6218.jpg

American Yellow Warbler Photographer Glen Noyer.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @emilyra333! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1