My love of books comes from my father.

in #reading6 months ago

When I was young I did not like to read. My parents and teachers tried and tried to get me to read but I just didn't want to. Then one fateful day my father said something to me that resonated with me in a way I am unable to describe. He said "You can learn anything you want to from a book." And with that I took to books like a fish takes to water. Of course there were problems like the fact that I decided that since I could just learn from books there was no need for homework but that is a story for another day.

It's been a month since my father has gone and it still isn't real to me. I keep thinking oh I have to talk to him about this or that. Then the stark realization hits me that he now resides only in the memory of those who loved him.

Of the things he left me with I cherish his books the most.

1000019621.jpg

His collection numbers somewhere north of 3000 novels. Most of them are science fiction or fantasy. Some I've read others are foreign to me. As I feel sorrow for my loss I feel the connection these books bring me knowing that he once focused his attention to every word of every page. Each book is a window into the mind of the author and the collection is a gateway to a greater understanding of who my father was.

I will take that journey.
I will consume every single page.
As I walk through worlds in the footsteps of my father I will document this great odysee here for all to see.

Sort:  

Wow man, that is an amazing collection of novels and I'm sorry to hear about your loss. It can't be easy loosing a parent, but it's an amazingly poetic and beautiful way of looking at his collection of novels as a way to share his past-time with him.

Yeah it's not real yet. I keep thinking ohbi have to ask him about this or that then I remember.

When my nan passed away we all kept thinking the same thing. My mum would often pick up the phone to share some good news with her and then remember.

Congratulations @jeffbuilds! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023


Congratulations @jeffbuilds!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!