Anything but the task in hand...

in #relationships3 months ago

IMG_7398.jpg

We're moving house this week. Not far, just a few miles down the road, but of course that means that I'm desperate for anything to distract me from actually knuckling down to the tasks in the spreadsheet of doom we've made to organise things.

Right now, I'm supposed to be in town, printing off loads of things. But instead I'm sitting looking at the piles of things that I was supposed to have done yesterday and so why not write on your blog, Lloyd? What could possibly go wrong?

I think this is one of those times when I remember that I need to "think by writing" instead of staring at lists or what hasn't been done yet. The whole thing will happen, regardless of what I happen to be doing right now but every little helps and sometimes it's not the obvious action, action, action that helps the most. Sometimes it's getting quiet and then letting a whole load of stuff splurge out onto the page/into a text box on the internet.

Last night Mrs Davis and I thought about our respective experiences of moving house in the past, to try to see where we might be able to help each other this week. Turns out our experiences have been very different, but in summary, we're worried about things being chaotic and feeling lonely in the process. So a little bit of planning and checking in regularly is helping a lot. I'd rather she was doing things my way and she'd rather I would do things her way, but marriage is a long-term process of compromise and mutual acceptance and this is just one more bit of the work that needs doing.

As a bonus, we have a lovely blue sky for the first time in God knows how long, so I don't mind having to go out and pick through what needs to be chucked out from the shed! (those splodges are marks on the glass of our back door - they will be wiped off before we leave!)

Sort:  

A move is disruptive, but an opportunity to see what you actually have. I hope it goes smoothly.

Enjoy that sunshine, it may not last.