Prioritise your security.

in #security10 months ago

11926692-4583-41EB-AE43-AEF6761FD48D.jpegsource

I remember when I first joined crypto I was saving some of the little money I have as btc on an exchange and a few months later when I logged in the money just disappeared without explanation, and when I tried to look into what was going on I realized the exchange was hacked. I don't know much about crypto at that time, I don't know how important it is to prioritize security.

My major mistake then was the picture in my head that nothing will happen and it was not as if I don't know how important it is to move my coin away from an exchange but it feels safe and because everything just runs smoothly I felt I don't need to move it because nothing can happen but I was and everything was wiped out and since then I hardly buy btc.

These days I invest majorly in hive projects and since my last experience with the exchange I try not to get too exposed I prioritize my security by protecting my key at all costs and I don't click anyhow links. One of the things that make Hive so unique is that I have access to all my keys.

Not your, not your crypto

Some people even invest on exchange site platforms up to millions of dollars because everything just looks smooth and it looks safe but as long as you are not in charge of your wallet by not having the keys to it your money is not safe. we have so many intermediaries sites that you don't have access to your keys and promise high returns it doesn't always end well.

Since my last experience, I don't joke with keys, and no matter how good your project might sound if I don't have access to keys I won't invest a dime. You are your bank in crypto and nobody will handle your security for you, and if you are careless there is a high chance you might lose everything you invest in.

More from dwayne16

Instinct and knowledge the polar in making a financial decision

the impact of technology

do the extra work

Greed: the unsatisfied hunger for money

Is it stupidity or manipulation

Analyzing the market is good for everyone in crypto.

Invest in what you understand.

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

I also lost my BTC in my early days of crypto, I think some of us go through this unpleasant lesson and then we take security very serious.

I agree that keys are important. I lost some crypto in the centralized exchanges and I also lost my keys for some of my early crypto accounts. It's much better to have control over the crypto even if I have to eat some fees later to transfer them later.

This post has been manually curated by @alokkumar121 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @alokkumar121 by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.