Hypocrisy On Hive

in #silverbeardlast year

Hypocrisy On Hive



Drama is something I really try to avoid. You wouldn't know it from everything I've been through, but it's true. It does find a way of creeping it's way into my life sometimes, but I am learning to shield myself from it.

More often than not I keep my mouth shut on most issues, conditioned by upbringing and my former religious and spiritual beliefs to "keep the peace" or to "let it slide".

I can't let fear of retribution get in the way of telling the truth anymore.

I've known for some time now that there are undesirables on the Hive block-chain, many coming over from the Steem block-chain.

I don't need to name names, I sure a few came to your mind as you read that but this isn't about who they are but rather, the behaviour itself.

A few months ago, I read a post by one of these people and my jaw dropped at their blatant hypocrisy!

These people will say that they don't mind being downvoted, but when they are downvoted, they go on a tirade about it afterwards.

No one likes being downvoted, and thankfully for me the only people downvoting my posts or comments are downvote bots or people who don't have any Hive Power.

The hypocrisy is that these people go on downvoting sprees as a self-appointed sheriff of the block-chain.

The justification for this is to paint the people they don't like as 'bad actors', 'idiots' or even 'fucktards' while engaging in the exact same behaviours themselves. Hypocrisy!.

They only cared about "protecting the block-chain" because they want the entire reward pool for themselves.

The post in question accused others of plagiarising text and photos, self-voting, using bidbots, forming circle-jerks and spam posting simple, single-image low quality posts.

They recycle their text often, are part of a massive upvote circle-jerk, use a single low effort image, use bidbots, spam posts and hope that no one notices.

I noticed.

It's bullshit.

The Antidote



While this might be a bitter pill to swallow, this is not an attack on anyone or any particular group, it's just to say that I am aware of the behaviour, the deflection, the gaslighting and that I refuse to support it.

The antidote to all of this, for me at least, is to be aware of it, not engage or respond to it and just continue to create the best original content that I can.

This is a departure from what I normally post, so I'll return to what I am good at.

Be mindful of what your upvotes support and have fun.

Thank you for reading.

Shaidon



Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

Sort:  

I don’t understand all this negativity, when I think of hive I think fun, friends and sharing.
Can’t we all just get along and be happy for all to succeed.
Hive should be a comfort zone.

I agree. Hive has been my refuge.
This is not my normal content, but I will go back to writing about the fun stuff shortly.

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 53000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the last day of the group stage.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!