DTube Snap: Steemians Helping Steemians; Fabricating An Exhaust For @derekrichardson


Hey everyone! This is a snap of @derekrichardson filming me grinding the finish off a new section of tail pipe. His tail pipe split at the catalytic converter and a temporary section of strait pipe was welded in place to suffice until his next smog check. Its imperative that the finish on the pipe be removed and bare metal showing before welding, otherwise the weld will not be clean. When operating an angle grinder, for safety purposes, always keep the disk guard in place and when possible utilize the handle that came with the grinder. I ended up getting whats known as Arc Eye after this project due to the fact that I welded the pipe under the vehicle. It was my personal fault and took the chance to finish the job and some of the welding required the helmet come off for me to see where to go. Big mistake, I was in pain all night and my eyes felt like they got a huge sunburn. Always use eye protection when welding. Awesome news is that @derekrichardson was back on the road with a quieter more functioning vehicle.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think I remember way back in the day when I used to build harleys, I was told to put slices of raw potato over my eyelids and keep there for as long as possible should that ever happen.... fortunately never had to try this remedy but was told it works... takes the burning pebbles in your eyes feeling away supposedly.

Hey, I'll remember that next time! The pain was not as bad until I laid down and closed my eyes. Then the tears gushed and the burning started. Probably just the swelling taking place. Thanks for the tip!

You're not supposed to look at the arc! lol. Thanks a lot dude. The truck is running way smoother.

Anytime man! I have a pair of smaller welding goggles I need to bring next time.